Wants to Meet Up

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern); learning Dutch
  • 114, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Professional Dog Sitter
  • Business degree, Life, Self-educated
  • From Portland, OR, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoying my favorite city ~ Amsterdam. I can no longer host guests unfortunately, but I'd love to meet for coffee, wine, or a long bike ride.

ABOUT ME
Hello, I'm Michelle from the US. I live with my Dutch boyfriend and can no longer host new friends. I'd love to meet up and make new friends if my schedules allows.

I'm a down to earth, friendly extravert who loves Amsterdam and showing people around the city by bicycle or on foot. I'm compassionate, conscientious, amiable, generous, harmonious, and sometimes quite rebellious. Open minded and open to new experiences. Can be quite playful at times and a little shy and quiet, although I'm never afraid to speak my mind and stand up for what I believe in. Into healthy living and eating organic whenever possible.

I love the natural world and strive to do my part to protect it. I love hiking through forests as well as spending time at the sea and riding my bicycle all over Holland.

PHILOSOPHY

Tread lightly on this earth!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To connect with people from all over the world and make new friends. Share knowledge, recipes, cooking, food, laughter, conversation.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'll never forget how cool it was when Elad invited another musician friend over and they had a jam session on my old rooftop terrace while I baked organic cookies and mixed my favourite cocktails for us!

I know how to choose my guests! I have chosen the sweetest people that have really added value to my life. I hope in some small way, I have done the same for them.

Interests

Lifting weights, working out, hula hooping, dancing, sailing, Greece and the Greek islands, Biking around Amsterdam and across Holland. Swimming in the Adriatic Sea: Croatia, Visiting family in Israel. Drinking delicious Belgian beer. Cooking with organic food, photography, Belly dancing, burlesque shows, ice skating, bicycling, travel, and road trips, foreign films, photography, organic gardening, dogs, the plight of the Palestinians and human rights in general, delicious ethnic food especially Middle Eastern, Afghani, Ethiopian, Indian, Moroccan, and Thai. Long, meaningful conversations with friends.

White wine, good beer, dark chocolate, Retro and vintage clothing, antiques, vintage erotica, historic architecture, reggae, emo, Israeli music, Israeli culture, world peace. The beauty of the Hebrew language.

  • dogs
  • culture
  • architecture
  • photography
  • beauty
  • dancing
  • belly dancing
  • human rights
  • dining
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • wine
  • white wine
  • beer
  • cocktails
  • organic food
  • working out
  • walking
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • clothing
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • road trips
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Iron & Wine, alt-J, Idan Raichel Project, Thievery Corporation, Lana Del Rey, Cat Power, Gotan Project, Federico Aubele, Jose Gonzales, Lucille Bogan, Zohar, Billie Holiday, Mutabaruka, Erykah Badu, Stephen Marley, Michael Franti, Nick Cave, Leonard Cohen, Sparklehorse, Cat Stevens, Feist, Cat Power, Neil Young, Bob Marley. Movies: A love of french films; Life and Debt, Zoolanders, Henry and June, Rockers, Dancehall Queen, Fantastic Planet, Alice's Restaurant.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going down Jamaica's Rio Grande on a bamboo raft. I wanted our driver to take a break, so I navigated our rickety, bamboo raft for a good hour or so.

We were the only ones on that river for the entire 4 hours of our journey. We drifted over to a beautiful abandoned historic hotel in the John Crow mountains, by then it was nightfall, and the fireflies were twinkling all around us.

Teach, Learn, Share

All types of people with all different life experiences. If you know how to cook a particular dish and you want to share, teach me!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good food, good wine, good conversation. A walking/biking (long distance) companion. (When I have time) Total enthusiasm for this amazing city~Amsterdam. And my sweet, mellow, and well behaved dog/princess, Mirabelle.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Netherlands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups