Gene Floyd's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 97% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gene’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 140 References 114 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 48, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Nurse and Licensed Massage Therapist
  • Ah wint two skul in lowr aLabamma
  • From High Springs, FL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please note that I don't actually live in Tallahassee, I live in Chattahoochee, about 50 miles West of Tallahassee and less than a mile from the extreme SW corner of Georgia. Since people passing through the area don't even know this little town is here, I wanted to make sure to maintain my Tallahassee address since most won't even know to look in Chattahoochee.
In order to let me know that you read and understand what I just wrote, please mention Chattahoochee in your email to me, otherwise I will assume you didn't bother reading my profile and the reply will be suitably short and sweet.

I live in an old house that I am renovating in Chattahoochee, about half a mile from the Southern Tier bicycle route (US 90). My house is definitely a construction zone, but I have room for several to crash inside and the yard is always a nice place to camp. It's not the cleanest place in the world with all the construction and reconstruction going on, but I doubt you'll catch anything....it is warm, dry, and safe. I am a nurse so I am often working at night, but that has never stopped me from putting someone up before; my place stays unlocked. I have a regular couch and a futon couch in the living room plus an unfinished bedroom with a couple of mattresses in it and you are welcome to use my shower, kitchen, laundry, tools etc as needed. I do have two cats and a dog if allergies are an issue for you...but you're still welcome to camp and I do have Benadryl if you need some.

I know you're traveling and may not have regular email or web access; I want to make it as easy as possible to reach me when you're on the road. My email is floyd.gene@gmail.com and my telephone number is 850.284.3677 but be advised that I do not check the voicemail on it - if you don't reach me by phone, call again later or send a text message. Either way, please send a request through the site as soon as you can so we can leave feedback for each other

Oh, be sure to tell me what your food preferences are...vegetarian, hallal, kosher, food allergies, etc etc. ...or tell me something you miss from back home or want to try from here and we can perhaps have fun cooking it together

Unless I tell you differently (say I'm out that evening until late, I'm at work, or heaven forbid I'm just flat broke and eating my last pack of Ramen noodles myself) you are welcome to share meals with me - consider this your invitation so feel free to ask about dinner times and what's for supper. I will gladly accommodate feasible dietary restrictions, but I need to know what you can or can't eat in advance so I know what to shop for.

CURRENT MISSION

The same thing we do every night Pinky....try to take over the world!

ABOUT ME

2 of the kids and I set out on our bikes to ride coast-to-coast so that we could see the great country we live in on a more up-close and personal level. We started in new York city and made it halfway before circumstances beyond our control forced us to cancel in Rapid City, SD. We returned to Tallahassee with a vastly-improved understanding of Couchsurfing and a desire to share that enthusiasm with others.

The purpose of our ride was to try to raise awareness of the importance of dads in kids' lives in the hopes that more children will have healthy relationships with their dads.

PHILOSOPHY

Make everyone else's life just a little brighter. We're all on this ride together, so we should make the best of it and pull together.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Mi couch, su couch. My kids and I spent 3 months Couchsurfing across the country by bicycle, and have always been active on Warmshowers. I have had many guests stay with me and have always enjoyed showing them our little corner of the country.

Don't let the reply rate mislead you, I answer everyone I can but sometimes they send a request too late and by the time I see it, their request has expired...which gets counted against your percentage, or else I receive a request on my phone with a phone number in it and I return contact by voice or text, which again is counted against you. Feel free to message again if you need to for emergencies.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

OK, so now I'm not as new since my kids and I completed about half of our trip across America by bicycle, have been hosting for about 10 years, and traveling when I can. I am still amazed at all the little microslices of American life we were allowed to view! Once you get past looking at CS as simply a free place to crash and realize the social exchange that goes on when you visit someone with a different lifestyle, CS takes on a whole new dimension. It was a perfect combination with our bike ride, which had a main purpose of meeting new people. I was concerned that camping our way across would not let us meet as many different folks as I wanted to, but CS changed all of that....we only camped when hosts weren't available and spent the rest of our time getting to know the people that make up this great country.

Interests

Into ham radio, disaster relief and search and rescue. I love sailing, biking, canoeing, riding my motorcycle, and camping. I just finished both nursing and massage school, so am always up to talking about healing, compassionate touch, and alternative medicine

  • cycling
  • canoeing
  • camping
  • sailing
  • medicine
  • nursing
  • sustainable living
  • ham radio
  • trump resistance

Music, Movies, and Books

Mostly country (especially Australian), bluegrass, and old rock, but love anything....even rap as long as they're not advocating slappin hos and cappin cops. I just met Ricky Skaggs and got his autograph on my banjo and mandolin. For books, I have everything from Lowe's Home Repair to Different Loving and The Ethical Slut

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Rode my bicycle more than halfway across the country with my children and spent time on a hospital parking garage roof helping coordinate the helicopter evacuation of several hundred patients and staff. Look up Tulane hospital evacuation for more details.

Teach, Learn, Share

Never stop learning no matter how impractical some knowledge may be, you never know when you might be able to re-interpret it and use it for a totally unrelated purpose. MacGyver is my hero.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A place to stay, southern cooking, a guided tour of the area, warm hugs and smiles

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    13 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gene’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups