Florie Thielin's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Florie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 158 references 98 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Breton
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Webmarketing & Journalist
  • Sustainable tourism
  • From Vendôme, Loir-et-Cher, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Back from a 2 years trip through Latin America during which I was sharing marketing tips in exchange for room and food with responsible tourism initiatives and making videos to share their good practices and stories: https://4rtourisme.fr/webmarketing-developpement-durable/hoptour-amerique-latine/
I live now in Lyon where I work as a freelance in communication, writing articles about sustainable tourism (for www.voyageons-autrement.com and TV5MONDE) and as a professor in tourism schools.
Also, I don't live alone anymore as I share my life with Patrick Pardy, an adorable irish-bike-mechanic man :P

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Since 2006, I had the chance to be welcomed by many couchsurfers all around the world, and also to host travelers everytime I could :)
I love Couchsurfing, it's a unique way of travelling, opening people's minds, and living memorable human experiences.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I hosted for the first time Kezia from Brazil, it was really like having a bit of sun and holidays at home :D I loved the experience !

I had then my first "surfing" experience in Estonia. I spent a whole week-end in Tallinn with 2 friends, Deniss hosted us. He was so great and generous with us. He showed us the city and spent lots of time with us. He told me about all his couchsurfing experiences, and since I could not imagine travelling in an other way ! I saw Deniss again since, and he's a good friend. Since this time, I met quite a few people through Couchsurfing, it's so much fun !

Interests

I like to meet new people, discover new places, cook for my friends, test new tastes, learn new languages! I believe that it's through the encounter with others, through experiences, that we build our-self. I'm not materialist and prefer invest my time and money into living great experiences!

During 3 years I was a member of the students association which organizes induction week-ends, parties, ski week, it was a lot of fun :)

I like sports in general. I like to run when it doesn't rain, and go swimming. I discovered scuba diving and hiking in French Polynesia, i really enjoy it. I just started yoga and salsa.

I'm "gourmande" (=sweet tooth?!) and like cooking, in particular desserts, hum, hum ... yummy !I like as well good wine, biers and cheeeeeeese with honey :D

  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • desserts
  • yoga
  • running
  • partying
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • sports
  • languages
  • tourism
  • salsa

Music, Movies, and Books

I am very open about music styles, it really depends of my mood and what i am up to (dancing, sleeping, listing in the train, waking up ..!!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Scuba diving with sharks, wild dolphins and manta ray in French Polynesia :D
Eating rats and ants omelette during a trekking in north of Thailand :P
Travelling 2 months through the two islands of New Zealand, sleeping in the car or at couchsurfers' houses :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I could teach french language and cuisine, how to make brazilian and macrame bracelets, and to draw a mouse !

I am very curious to learn about everything, and to share good stories :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I used to travel a lot, and I'm now back in France, very happy to settle in Lyon which is an amazing city.
I work freelance and might not have much time to spend with you, but I'm happy to help and live you my living room and a extra key :)
Me encanta hablar espanol ! (lo hecho muchoooo de menos) E tambem falar portunol <3

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Palestine, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, French Polynesia, Germany, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    18 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Florie’s full profile.

My Groups