Francis Zhu's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Francis’s full profile.

Overview

  • 126 references 84 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, Chinese (Simplified), English
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Assistant Lecturer
  • University
  • From Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

'Hosting is like traveling without moving'.

'A picture is worth a thousand words'. Check my profile photos to feel the joy of hosting and surfing.

I love traveling, meeting locals and hosting foreigners. I like to meet locals when I travel, this is the best way to understand a culture from beneath its surface. In turn, I will share my culture with them whenever they visit my home. Anyone from around the world is welcome to stay with me.

When you make a request, think of what you can offer during your stay, for example, cook some of your signature dishes for the family, organise a rooftop BBQ, draw some caricatures, potraits of hosts, perform Aeroyoga, Acroyoga, dancing, music, play magic, firedancing ... to cheer up everyone. I prefer verified members.

Do not send a request if you are a party animal just looking for a free bed.

Do not send a request more than 10 days ahead of arrival.

This is NOT a hotel, you must bring your own toiletries, including towels, shampoo, toilet paper, toothbrush, toothpaste, adapter (3 flat legs) and mosquito repellent. I don't provide any of these.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'd like to host and be hosted, the best way to explore the world. I love food, culture,history,traditions,architecture and share travel stories with people from around the world. The best way to do this, in my opinion, is to stay with locals wherever I travel. Couchsurfing would meet my demand, I hope.

Interests

Mountains
Hiking
Nature
Cycling
Swimming
Snorkeling
Golfing
Traveling
Architecture
History
Cross cultural exchange
Concerts
Music

  • photography
  • music
  • cycling
  • paragliding
  • swimming
  • travelling
  • meeting new people
  • golfing
  • going to concerts
  • hiking in the mountains
  • learning different cultures

Music, Movies, and Books

Music of the 70s and 80s: Carpenters, BGs, Air Supply, Simon & Garfunkel,
Movie: Gone with the wind
Books: National Geographic

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Paragliding in the mountains in the Bernese Oberland, Interlaken, Switzerland

Teach, Learn, Share

Learning every minute in my life, that's why I like meeting people

What I Can Share with Hosts

A crash course in Chinese language and Chinese history.
Travel stories from around the world.
My favorite dish, if I can find the right ingredients.
Hidden gems of my city.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, China, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Hong Kong

Join Couchsurfing to see Francis’s full profile.

My Groups