FRUITCAKE's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see FRUITCAKE’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 8 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Welsh
  • 46, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Creative Bean. After a spell in theatre now moving to Cor...
  • Life, Degree,Diplomas etc
  • From Cardiff, Wales
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I was born under a wanderin' star...

ABOUT ME

Happiest when beginning a journey, notebook in hand and eyes and ears wide open. Airports/train and bus stations are great for character spotting for stories!
I am as content in my own company as in that of friends. A healthy balance of the two is ideal. I have learnt a great deal about people and life on my path so far, some good experiences, some bad, but all leading to growth and acceptance. Life is always just beginning...a new page, a different chapter...
I am a very creative soul. Painted for many years, for myself and for money. Also love to sing and perform when the mood takes me...then another day sit quietly for hours contemplating my naval, maybe writing. I enjoy sharing my skills.Most of my teaching has been at festivals, playschemes or impromptu,on the road. I really should get my driver's license then I could have my own little travelling workshop :-), but then public transport raises challenges all of its own, which can make or break a journey, but make a story nonetheless!
I am a very caring soul, loving and accepting of people, unless they p*** me off..haha! I despise bigotry ..hmm..does that make me unaccepting?..Debate...!

PHILOSOPHY

to even love those I would profess to hate...!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

spread the word...hope to host again..and surf, soon!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Under bridges, at train stations, airports, beaches, tipis, yurts,fronts of cars, sofas, floors...u name it, I've probably slept in or on it!

Interests

creative writing...singing...travelling... reading...languages...meeting..folk...teaching...
camping..paddling...giggling...hugging..debating...
caring...cooking...supping...sleeping...dreaming...
waking up....sunday papers..breakfast in bed...and dreaming again..zzzz

  • writing
  • singing
  • performing arts
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • breakfast
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cars
  • painting
  • drawing
  • guitar
  • camping
  • languages
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies:
Any Pedro Almodovar,Hideous Kinky,Holy Smoke, Amelie,Beautiful Sunshine of a Spotless Mind (seems to be a bit of a Kate Winslett thing going on here), Rabbit Proof Fence,Motorcycle Diaries,Les Amants de Pont Neuf,probably many more, these are just off the top of my head.

Music:
Eclectic: Nina Simone, Nick Drake, Verdi, Faithless, Belle and Sebastian, Tracy Chapman, The Killers, Bob Marley,Gotan Project...the list goes on, depends on my mood.

Books:
Currently on smuggling tales of Daphne Du Maurier. Loved The Curious Tale of the Dog at Nightime. Inspired by God of Small Things,Arandhati Roy(I was working for her Mother in Kerala when she was writing it.Unfortunately didnt meet Arandhati but hosted by her husband,himself a very interesting naturalist and film-maker).Margaret Atwood. Alice Sebold. Audrey Niffinger.James Frey. A bit of Jung.Dictionaries.
The Thesaurus. Books about travel, art, music, life.I also like reading scores...music scores - figuring out and humming a new tune on a bus, instead of reading The Evening Standard.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sharing my love of India with my Mum. Riding three deep on a motorbike with her and Shabir, a Kashmiri jeweller, round the backroads of Goa at breakneck speed to catch the sunset at Arumbol. I swear, I thought I was going to end up in a ditch. Seeing my Mum grinning from ear to ear made all the sunstroke,aching limbs and sore arse worth it!
This entry will probably change as time and life moves on... ;-)

Teach, Learn, Share

Most things arty...painting,drawing,jewellery making,theatre,singing,writing. Love to skill share.
Massage and intuitive healing. A good listener too!
I would like to learn to play my guitar so I can busk my way around the world's couches. Always up for learning new skills, so that I can then teach them to the next person!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Cuba, Cyprus, France, Greece, India, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see FRUITCAKE’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups