Ocean Capewell's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ocean’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2005
  • storyteller, library lurker. for money i work at the welf...
  • bachelor's in creative writing. still learning from life.
  • From oyster bay, ny. (long island)
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to push myself out of my comfort zone, in a good way. (i work at the welfare office, so unfortunately i am often pushed out of my comfort zone in a bad way.) remember the magic that is really out there! good people! you exist, right?

ABOUT ME

i am a fire sign, a writer, a queer, a feminist, an eye roller, a face maker, and a former new yorker.

i got on a greyhound bus right after high school. met a lot of wacky people, saw a few magnificent sunrises. learned so much more than i would have if i'd gone to college.

i read a lot of books but i can get buck wild sometimes. i'm in a kind of settled-down phase of my life. pleasant, not boring. the distinctions are important.

i just finished my first novel, a scoop of queer-girl-punkhouse-love. i've been writing zines for 15 years now (and am going on zine tour summer 2011. if you get a couch request from me, it's probably because you're in a city where i'm reading!). i spent 8 years working in prison book programs. my activism is stealth & within the system now, but i've got big dreams.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

i like surprises. i like travelers (who are respectful & nice). i like the idea that we can trust strangers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

i have never really surfed with strangers before. however, i have stayed on many a friend's couch, all over the country, and befriended their housemates. i've also had many a punkhouseguest who i didn't know, and i miss that feeling of taking someone into your home and hanging out with them intensely for a few days.

Interests

zines, yams, sewing, bikes, prison book programs, charming scarves, things with faces on them, kale, typewriters, books. community gardens, greywater, yoga, rubber stamps, odd museums, exploring small towns.

  • writing
  • books
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • reading
  • cars
  • magic
  • stamps
  • cycling

Music, Movies, and Books

movies: wayne's world, rise above: the tribe 8 documentary, bring it on, go fish, bar girls.

books: i like books by sherman alexie, sapphire, dorothy allison, patrick califia, jennifer egan, erick lyle, cindy crabb, diane dimassa, alison bechdel, and others!

music: arcade fire, bikini kill, bruce springsteen, the clash, team dresch, blackalicious, jean grae, pretty much everything besides heavy metal & techno.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

sunrise over the desert on a sleepless greyhound night.
rode my bike over 300 miles. wrote a novel. saved my prison book program from financial peril. sorry, i know it's only supposed to be one, but i couldn't choose...

Teach, Learn, Share

fixing flats (on bikes, not cars), cooking, making delicious smoothies

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Germany, Lithuania

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ocean’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups