Gil CANTINELLI's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gil’s full profile.

Overview

  • 140 references 55 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Georgian, Russian; learning German, Spanish
  • 48, Other
  • Member since 2007
  • Consulting for Travel Projects
  • Tourisme - Langues - Social - Ecole de la Vie ;)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Make friends around the world & Share our world with others !

ABOUT ME

I have been educated by my parents
and grand parents with an open minded view
by the fact they are all teachers and
language teachers.
My family is for centuries non-violent militant,
against War and poverty.

My grand parents were Amnesty International militants
and spent all their life helping people,
and spent all their money in foundations
against poverty, Hunger and discriminations.

I try to do my best to follow their example,
and I decided 15 years ago to work in Youth Hostels Federation
that the first ame is to make people travel cheaper
to understand each others and share their culture.

By this work, I made a lot of projects like
European Youth Exchanges, EVS projects,
International work camps, Environment Education projects
and cultural ones for the young local people
that don't have funds to practice their hobbies...

50 per cent of my staff were foreigners ( Mexicans, hundurian, romanian, tunisian, spanish, brasilian,... )
and I liked a lot working with them... Meet them !
And now I quit my work at the youth hostel i'm working on several projects....
You can follow them here !

PHILOSOPHY

My world is your world ! I'm not french, I don't belong to a country, my country is the world !

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Since I registered at the end of september 2007,
i hosted so many gorgeous people at home !
I work for organisations for helping people
for cultural understanding exchange
since i was student...
I always need to organize things for it...

For CouchSurfing, since 2008, I have participated to more than 135 meetings and organized around 50 of them
with all the crazy grenoble CS staff !!! I was also local ambassador during 2 years but now i don't have the time anymore for this mission ;)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My parents had a lot of "Au pair" people at home
and my grand parents in Nice use to pick up hitchhickers
and give them the keys of their house
for a couple of days,
without caring of thier honesty !

I had a lot of friends from different countries
by working at the youth hostel,
and I used to welcome them home
each time they were coming back to Grenoble,
it's a tradition....

Now, i host a lot of people from CS,
perhaps once a week, sometimes more ;) Click on the pic to see them all !!!
Don't they look happy ? ;)

Interests

Music, culture, computers, languages, photography !

... I'm very curious of other cultures...

  • culture
  • folklore
  • photography
  • education
  • environment
  • traveling
  • music
  • kayaking
  • teaching
  • languages
  • au-pair

Music, Movies, and Books

"Lost Highway" From David Lynch
" Amours Chiennes" "21 gramms" et "Babel" de Alejandro González Inárritu
"Indian Runner",and all the movies of Sean Penn as a director
Magnolia, The Jacket, Requiem for a dream, Excalibur, Clockworks, Garden state.....

Music ? I love all styles ! Jeff Buckley, Radiohead, My Brightest Diamond, Nina Simone, Djü, Andréanne Alain, The Noisettes, Mars Volta, Velvet underground, Gotan Project, Groove Armada, Nithin Sawhney, Chet baker, Brisa Roché, ....

I don't read a lot of books but I love Paul AUSTER, John Irving, Nabokov...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

... and also...
- Kayaking with a whale in Quebec !
- Discovering not so touristic places like Libya or Georgia !
- Meeting my beautiful wife ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

You want to see Grenoble like a local
but in a funny and original way ???!!!
I can help you !!!!
Click here !

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Georgia, Germany, Italy, Libya, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    46 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gil’s full profile.

My Groups