Gerhard Mann's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gerhard’s full profile.

Overview

  • 174 references 138 Confirmed & Positive
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Romanian, Russian, Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • English Teacher
  • No education listed
  • From Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I grew up in Germany, had a job in IT, moved to Moldova for volunteering and decided to stay here. Now I work as an English teacher in Chisinau. Whenever my schedule gives me some days off, I pack my things and I'm on my way, preferably off the beaten track.

Please don't waste your (and my) time writing me a copy-and-paste-message. I'll decline it anyway. I also don't host people with empty profiles or no references.

You can find some of my travel-photos here: www.instagram.com/gmann.blog

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I travel a lot and I like to learn about the places I'm going. I want to be a traveller, not a tourist, so I really want to get insight from locals to understand what's going on. And that's also the reason why I am hosting: I know how nice it can be to be welcomed at places you've never been before and getting to know more about those places than from any book or documentary. This is the reason why I'd prefer interesting places over beautiful places.

Interests

Well, obviously travelling, like everyone else here ;-)

Besides that, I absolutely love photography. I'm having my camera most of the time with me, trying to find some nice spots. I don't even mind waiting for quite some time, just to get the perfect shot.

Also, I play football since I'm a kid and it's still a big passion. I played Sunday league and coached kids for a few years at my local football club in Germany. Today I'm still playing once a week. I'm a huge fan of 1860 Munich, but no worries, I got used to the fact that some people don't like football, so I won't bore you with football stories - unless if you want of course :-P

  • photography
  • traveling
  • football

Music, Movies, and Books

I love well-made movies and serials. Some of my all-time favourites are There Will Be Blood and No Country For Old Men but also older ones like A Clockwork Orange or Metropolis. For serials, I'm going with Breaking Bad, Dark Mirror, Babylon Berlin, Fargo.

I listen mostly to Arcade Fire, Blur, Oasis, Sufjan Stevens and similar.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Visiting schools in the slums of Dhakka, Bangladesh. The joy and happiness of the pupils was incredible.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Moldova

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gerhard’s full profile.

My Groups