Alex Jan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

Overview

  • 36 references 25 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish; learning German, Russian
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • PhD student in Freshwater Ecology
  • M.Sc. Ecology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

My greatest fear is to have regrets. That's why I never say no to challenges and new experiences, especially weird and crazy ones. I was born in Rome and raised in southern Italy, but my real life started when I left my hometown and moved to London at the age of 19. Later came Madrid, Norwich, Berlin, Cologne, Yerevan and now Bonn, the city to which my heart belongs. I have many stories to tell and many dreams which I like sharing with other people, as well as listening to theirs.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is short and the world is big, so there's no time to waste.
I don't believe in God, but I believe in infinity.
Don't let yourself down by things you can't have, but think of the alternative opportunities you have!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surf, host and meet people! I always try to meet other couchsurfers living in my same city and participate in CS events. I'm one of the organizers of CS meetings in Bonn.
I like hosting people because it's the best opportunity to meet travellers when I'm not able to travel myself.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Over the last 5 years I've hosted many surfers on my couches in Norwich, Cologne, Yerevan and Bonn; I've surfed on couches in Poland, Belgium, Germany, Finland, Romania, Sweden and Norway. I've made a lot of good friends through the local CS communities in the cities where I've lived.

Interests

Art, nature, cats, vintage stuff, buttons, mathematics, old books, rivers, hiking, cycling, daydreaming, drinking coffee in nice cozy cafes, watching the stars, having long walks in summer evenings when the air smells good, exploring the amazing Bonn (and nearby Cologne). I love going to concerts and jam sessions, art exhibitions, and flea markets.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: ska, folk, classical, indie, rock, grunge. I like to discover local bands, and some of them have become my absolute favorites.

I love reading, especially classics and historical novels. Favourite books include "One hundred years of solitude" by Gabriel García Marquez, "The Master and Margarita" by Michail Bulgakov, "The Name of the Rose" by Umberto Eco, "The unbearable lightness of being" by Milan Kundera, "What a carve up!" by Jonathan Coe. Other authors that I love are Hermann Hesse, Philippa Gregory, Angela Carter and Isabel Allende.

Some movies that I like: The Imitation Game, Coco, Midnight in Paris, Amélie, The Legend of 1900, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Stardust, Inglorious Basterds, Saving mr. Banks, etc. My favourite Disney movie is Hercules :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelling on my own for 2 months through (south-)eastern Europe from Ukraine to Albania; volunteering 5 months in Armenia while living in a cramped dorm with 16 other volunteers; hitchhiking for 700 km on my own across Sweden in winter.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help you practice Italian and show you some yummy recipes (I only cook vegetarian/vegan food). I'd like to improve my German.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Lots of stories and my best smile :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Armenia, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

My Groups