Gintare Valasinaite's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gintare’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Lithuanian, Spanish; learning French, Latvian, Swedish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Teacher / translator
  • Vilnius University
  • From Lithuania
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm 24, fascinated by life and currently studying Semiotics at Vilnius University. Last year I've finished Pedagogical Studies, and a year before, I proudly defended my bachelors degree of Lithuanian philology and Spanish language. The latter was particularly difficult. It's really hard to get some sleep when you've just discovered World of Warcraft and at the same time you're really into your thesis :)

I want to think that I am open-minded, fun and curious about everything, I love visiting new places and meeting new people, especially sharing, and in this one word you can put everything: cuisine, books, movies, hobbies and so on. I'm emotional, empathic, shy, nerdy, and sometimes just scared of everything. Or panicking about all sorts of stuff that doesn't even matter in the end.

So my relationship with myself can be defined as "It's complicated". But even if sometimes I have a hard time dealing with myself, that does not affect my love for humanity. It's really hard to explain what it's like to love others and lack that love for what you are yourself.

Anyway, I love being in nature, explore new places, learn, read, play video or board games, meet new people and chat. So that's why I'm here :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Even though I'm just a starter, I think it is an interesting way to meet new people, visit spectacular places, learn some new things and grow as a person:)

Interests

I'm an art person. I enjoy music, visual arts, all kinds of literature, but above all theater and poetry. That's why I spend a lot of time reading and trying to write my own poems and short stories, I even tried (in my opinion, unsuccessfully) composing a few songs based on my poems (yep, I play guitar).

I love acting and creating decorations and costumes for theatrical performances. Right now I'm really interested in slam poetry, I've already read some of my poetry in public. I also enjoy photography (especially with old cameras), and visiting abandoned houses and buildings. My favorite time of the year is autumn, when I can fulfill the greatest stereotype of all times: curl up in a blanket with a cup of hot red tea and read while it's pouring outside :)

Oh, and board games! There's never enough of those!

  • arts
  • books
  • literature
  • poetry
  • theater
  • photography
  • acting
  • dining
  • cooking
  • movies
  • video games
  • board games
  • reading
  • knitting
  • music
  • guitar
  • languages
  • visual arts
  • science fiction

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Into the Wild, Le fabuleux destin d'Amélie Poulain, Mientras duermes, Holy mountain, La danza de realidad, Celda 211, The Legend of 1900, Forrest Gump, The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari, 99 francs, Dead Poets Society, Daniel Johnston and the Devil, The Perverts Guide to Cinema, Lord of the Rings, etc. You can found out more about my taste in movies in here: https://mubi.com/users/7517881

Music: Ramones, The Doors, David Bowie, Jimi Hendrix, AD/DC, The Strokes, Joy Division, Alice In Chains, Nirvana, Oasis, MGMT, Wolfmother, The Who, Black Keys, Sleep, Muddy Waters, Bob Dylan, Daniel Johnston, Nick Cave, Death Grips, Wardruna, etc. More or less everything from the beginning of time till now, including all of the weird stuff :)

Books: Alessandro Baricco "Novecento", Carmen Laforet "Nada", Ortega y Gasset "Mission de la Universidad", John Stuart Mill "El Utilitarismo", Bulgakov "Master and Margarita", "Dog Hearth", Javier Cercas "La velocidad de la luz", J. S. Foer "Everything is illuminated", Tadeusz Rozevic, a lot of Lithuanian authors and books, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I love to go for a walk when it's raining outside, so once I found an abandoned street and lied in the middle of it for an hour or so. I know it sounds weird, but it was amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach languages and literature, I even have the basic level of knitting! I really enjoy cooking and trying new meals, so you can also count that one in. I can also show You the basics of playing the guitar and using analog photo cameras :)

But above all I am really looking forward to learn about other countries and cultures through interesting conversations.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Everything, starting from movies, books, music and so on and ending with food cooking, chores and everything else.

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Italy, Latvia, Norway, Poland, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Lithuania, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Gintare’s full profile. It’s free!