Giovanni Pini's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 17% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Giovanni’s full profile.

Overview

  • 556 references 439 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning German
  • 65, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • No occupation listed
  • Economics
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meet interesting people.

ABOUT ME

Italian guy living in London. I love travelling and meeting people. When I was a student I benefited from the hospitality of lots of people in different countries. Time for me to return the favour.

PHILOSOPHY

You can always learn something from everyone.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

More of a host than a guest now although in my student days I surfed lots of couches throughout the world

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been hosting couch surfers for over 7 years. I have met fantastic people and become friends with several of those that have stayed at my place. Some of them have come back 2, 3 and even 4 times and recommended me to their brothers, sisters, and parents who have then visited me. Overall it is a fantastic experience. With so many people coming through my place it is inevitable that there are some bad apples. The latter are the people that are only interested in a free bed and food and act as if they were in a hotel (coming and going without any notification and spending too much time hanging around my apartment with nothing to do). Fortunately they are the exception. I will not let the actions of these bad apples (so far only 4 out of over 500 people that I have hosted) refrain from continuing to welcome people. As sometimes I can have up to 5 guess staying in my place I ask people to keep things tidy as this benefits everyone. 99% of the guests find this reasonable. There have been few cases of people that don't seem to care the impact of their mess has on other guests and me and resented me telling them to clean up their mess.

I live in a very central position just above Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens in Zone 1 and near the stops of 5 underground lines

Interests

Meeting new people, visiting non-touristic places both in London and in the rest of the world. Hiking. I like to go to stand-up comedy shows

  • dining
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Love history books, biographies, travelogues. In films I prefer comedies,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Arriving at the Grand Canyon during sunset.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, Ukraine, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • 3 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Giovanni’s full profile.

My Groups