John Binay's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 14 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.


  • 130 references 89 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Chinese, German, Latin, Turkish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Consumer eletronics
  • Postgrad student
  • From Bulle, Canton of Fribourg, Switzerland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To spread Love, Peace and Tolerance around the World! What a big mission ;-)


I grew up in the French part of Switzerland. I've been to 80 countries and traveling is a big part of my life. I grew up in Switzerland, currently live in the US and previously lived in Hong Kong (5 years), Netherlands (1 year), Canada (5 months) and China (1 year)! Because of a few bad CS experiences, I must mention that I am 100% gay friendly, but 100% straight ;-)


I think traveling is very important to improve your tolerance towards other people. Traveling is the main way to know how works our globalized world! That is why I will keep traveling all around the world until I can't anymore!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I hosted a 'few' people ;-)
I helped to translate some part of the website into French
I tried to spread the CouchSurfing values around the World!


Here are my experiences so far:


01) Lene, from Bergen/NORWAY
02) Stephane, from Paris/FRANCE
03-04) Ian from Los Angeles & Tim from Pittsburgh/USA
05-06) Yulia & Eve (Russians) from London/ENGLAND
07-08) Nuno & Catia from Almada/PORTUGAL
09-10) Martina & Nurçağ from Berlin/GERMANY
11) Elisa from Konstanz/GERMANY
12-13) Maria & Aldo from Baltimore, MD/USA
14) Anna from Prague/CZECH REPUBLIC
15-16) Antonio (Italian) from London/ENGLAND & Marija from Riga/LATVIA
17) Frantisek from Hustopece/CZECH REPUBLIC
18) Jennifer from Corvallis, OR/USA
19-20) Marie-Eve & Ariane from Montreal/CANADA
21) Judy (Taiwanese) from Sheffield/ENGLAND
22-23) Jessie & Brian (USA) from Edingurgh/SCOTLAND
24) Piero from Trieste/ITALY
25) Aryan (Russian/Iranian) from Teheran/IRAN
26) David from Auburn, CA/USA
27-28) Katharina & Timon from Graz/AUSTRIA
29) Sara from Poland, OH/USA
30-31) Marine & Audrey from Le Mans/FRANCE
32) Thomas from Aachen/GERMANY
33-34) Monica & Sophie from Trois-Rivières,QC/CANADA
35-36) Jerzy & Agnieszka from Katowice/POLAND
37) Sonja (Iranian/German) from Aix-en-Provence/FRANCE
38) Maria from Reykjavik/ICELAND
39) Katarina (Slovak) from Pully/SWTZERLAND
40-42) YeangChing, Erlianda & Jonathan from Singapore/SINGAPORE
43) Matej from Ljubljana/SLOVENIA
44) Suprita (New Zealander) from Lausanne/SWITZERLAND
45) Samantha (Singaporean) from Stanford,CA/USA
46) Kelly from Vancouver,BC/CANADA
47-48) Christoph & Miriam from Biel/SWITZERLAND
49) Lotte from Salo/FINLAND (1st guest in HK)
50) Elina from Espoo/FINLAND
51) Emiko from Fukuoka/JAPAN
52) Douglas from Whangarei/NEW ZEALAND
53) Jieun from Seoul/SOUTH KOREA
54) Stèphan (South African) from Roermond/THE NETHERLANDS
55) Aliya from Almaty/KAZAKHSTAN
56) Kenji from Paris/FRANCE
57) Jessie from Guangzhou/CHINA
58) Lis from Zurich/SWITZERLAND
59) Sean from Chico, CA/USA
60) Myrtille from Avignon/FRANCE (1st guest in R'dam)
61) Chris from San Jose, CA/USA
62) Doris from Taichung/TAIWAN
63) Tori from Saint Petersburg, FL/USA
64-66) Jenny, Bella and Joyce from HONG KONG
67) Allison from Peoria, IL/USA
68) Jessica from Evron/FRANCE
69) Pascal from Bern/SWITZERLAND
70) Jayesh (Indian) from Aachen/GERMANY
71-73) Jay and his 2 friends from Canterbury/ENGLAND
74) Léonore from Montréal/CANADA
Hosted in CANADA:
75) Ludovic (French) from Barcelona/SPAIN
Hosted in CHINA:
76) Saturday from Ningbo/CHINA
77) Jackie from Datong/CHINA
Hosted in HONG KONG:
78-79) Sophie and Vincent from Fribourg/SWITZERLAND
80) Signe (Denmark) from Puli/TAIWAN
Hosted in US:
81-82) Laurianne and Lori from SWITZERLAND
83-84) Juan Carlos (Spain) and Alex (Germany) from Cologne/GERMANY


01) Alison's in New Orleans, LA
02) Sarah's in Chicago, IL
03) Arnab's in Chicago, IL
04) June's in Lawrenceville, IL
05) Jordane's in New York, NY
06) Suresh's in New York, NY
07) Steve & Bill's in New York, NY
08) Colin & Liz's in Philadelphia, PA
09) Brian's in Cape May, NJ
10) Josh's in Washington D.C.
11) Chris' in Arlington, VA
12) Didier & Natalia's in Oslo/NORWAY
13) Lene's friends' in Bergen,Eidfjord and Voss/NORWAY
14) Stepan's in Prague/CZECH REPUBLIC
15) Pavel's in Prague/CZECH REPUBLIC
16) Aziz's in Marrakech/MORROCO
17) Juan Carlos' in Barcelona/SPAIN
18) Rory's friends' in Galway & Limerick/IRELAND
19) Darragh's in Cork/IRELAND
20) Kathryn's in Cork/IRELAND
21) Junior's in Dublin/IRELAND
22) Barbara's in Dublin/IRELAND
23) Brian's in Dublin/IRELAND
24) Ludmilla & David's in Amsterdam/THE NETHERLANDS
25) Paul's in Dubai/UAE
26) Emma's in Bangkok/THAILAND
27) Isabella's in Singapore/SINGAPORE
28) Ariel's in Kuala Lumpur/MALAYSIA
29) Jarred's in Langkawi/MALAYSIA
30) Xiaojian's in Kunming/CHINA
31) Qiong's in Guilin/CHINA
32) Gosia's in Wrocław/POLAND
33) Jason and Pascale's in Montreal/CANADA
34) Heidi's in New York/USA
35) Alejandro's in Hong Kong/HK
36) Nuno's in Taipa/MACAU
37) Minji's in Seoul/SOUTH KOREA
38) Hannah's in Seoul/SOUTH KOREA
39) Mike's in Basel/SWITZERLAND
40) Nathan's in Wanchai/HONG KONG
41) Colin's in Yangon/MYANMAR
42) Josh's in Granada/SPAIN
XX) SECOND TIME awesome Juan Carlos' in Sevilla/SPAIN
43) Mandy's in Gibraltar/GIBRALTAR
44) Maria's in Madrid/SPAIN
XX) THIRD TIME amazing Juan Carlos' in Sevilla/SPAIN
45) Vincent's in Hong Kong/HK
46) Ella's in Surabaya/ID
47) Made's in Seminyak/ID
48) Ketut's in Seminyak/ID
49) Sean's in Tokyo/JP
50) Caroline & Fergal in Belfast/UK
51) Taher in Manama/BAHRAIN
52) Robert in Doha/QATAR
53) Morgan in Muscat/OMAN
54) Olivier in Muscat/OMAN
55) Hanna & Garðar in Reykjavik/ICELAND
56) Mimi in Santo Domingo/DOMINICAN REPUBLIC


I love traveling and meeting people from other cultures, but I also love snowboarding, reading, playing soccer, movies, internet, scuba diving, parties, clubs, culture, fitness training, ...

  • culture
  • fitness
  • instructor
  • partying
  • clubbing
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • scuba diving
  • snowboarding
  • soccer
  • medicine

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC: I listen to different types of music, from hip-hop, rock, electro to classical music, depending on my mood MOVIES: Green Mile, The Matrix, Gladiator, The Island, Fahrenheit 9/11, Bowling For Columbine, Amelie Poulain, Lord of the Rings, 300, Sin City, Kill Bill, Blood Diamond, Avatar ... BOOKS: "Retire Young Retire Rich" by Kyosaki, "The Da Vinci Code" by Brown, "The Alchemist" by Coehlo, "How to Win Friends and Influence People" by Carnegie...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

June 11th, 1999 - I travelled to Strasbourg, FRANCE to watch a total solar eclipse. I will NEVER forget this moment!!! It's something to see at least once in one's life!

Teach, Learn, Share

TEACH: Everything I know you don't but you'd like to know! I am a snowboard instructor and I used to teach how to create websites and how to use a computer.LEARN: I want to know everything about your culture and new skills I don't have yet. SHARE: My experiences in the countries I've been and more...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Egypt, England, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Haiti, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Laos, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, North Korea, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Russian Federation, San Marino, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, China, Hong Kong, Netherlands, Switzerland, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    6 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.

My Groups