Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Graham’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Student
  • Hon. Bac Political Science & Bachelors of Common Law (LL....
  • From Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I just finished my law degree and am traveling through Asia for the next few months. I grew up in Montreal with an interest in travelling, food, music and good conversation. I've lived in Germany and just finished a semester abroad in Shanghai; I love Montreal and Europe but I thought it was a good time to live and explore Asia as the opportunities to live abroad as a student are limited! I'm also half-Portuguese.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

A key aspects of traveling for me is he opportunity to be emersed in cities and environments I wouldn't engage with otherwise. Meeting and staying with new people gives me an insight into people's lives across the globe; rather then taking a city at face value my time spent with couchsurfers has always been filled with awesome experiences and it's something I hope to keep contributing while I can.

Interests

My interests are pretty varried; I enjoy all different kinds of music, art and literature. Recently I've been reading more long-for journalism and am fairly up to date on current events.

If it helps, I'm reading Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein. Before that I reread 1984 and a Clockwork Orange.

  • arts
  • literature
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • journalism
  • law
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

See above for book info.

Music: I like lots of music. Recent stuff I've been listening to is Kendrick Lamar, Kelela, Caribou, Huxley, some deep house tracks, most Kompakt Label Releases, Arbutus record releases, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being invited to join the 100th day celebrations of new born boy in a village nestled between karst mountains an hour outside of Yangshuo, China. The warmth and generosity of these people in inviting two strangers for lunch and sharing stories about their lives with us was simply incredible.

Teach, Learn, Share

I hope to impart my experiences and perspectives I've gained so far. Be it deep.conversations about who we are and what is important to us to having a few beers simply talking about the daily grind.

Can't day I'm trained in teaching anything but chiling and having a good time is what I strive for.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I really enjoy meeting new people and sharing my time with people generous enough to offer me a couch to sleep on. I'm a pretty good cook for those looking for some decent western fare; otherwise good chats and a pretty social character is what I've got to offer.

I'm not-half bad at games, gallery hoping and all round partner in going out.

Don't hesitate to check me out on Facebook, LinkedIn or Instagram: gmvannel.

Cheers

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, China, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Graham’s full profile. It’s free!