Carolin Schäfer's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carolin’s full profile.

Overview

  • 13 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Italian
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • PhD Student
  • University
  • From Munich, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Please note I prefer only to meet up and I'm interested only in friendships!

I got hope, I got dreams, everything is real to me! :)

ABOUT ME

Hey there!
I would describe myself as moderate, helpful, funny-crazy and curious. I'm interested in other people stories they want to share, I'm funny and I love to laugh! I'm very openminded and love to explore new cultures. Don't be angry with me if I don't know the rules of a new culture and I'm doing faults, I'm trying my best not to insult anybody! I'm respectful with people and animals, so you should treat me with the same respect I treat you. Feel free to ask me questions about my personality, that's the best way to get to know each other! I prefer to only meet up on CS.

PHILOSOPHY

There's an african proword: Don't trust a naked person who offers you a shirt. I don't trust people who tell me yet, I love you when they can't love themself.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm mainly traveling and use the hangouts as a nice tool to meet locals but also other travellers. But when you're in Munich (and I'm free), you can ask me for a guided tour through the city! I'd love to show you Munich in a special way only locals know! ;) If you are interested in stories and historical background you are welcome to listen to me! :D

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
I visited Salzburg, Linz, Vienna, Padua, Rome, Naples, Florence and Venice via couchsurfing and, thank God, most of those experiences were positive. I met a few people by guiding them through Munich and had great fun together! :) CS is an awesome possibility to travel and meet locals and great people! But be careful, not everybody here is able to share positive feelings.

Interests

I do love art history, architecture, I also love lions, they're amazing animals! I read lots of books and I also love to spend time in the nature, it's my favourite place to relax. I like pets, animals in general!. I'm doing currently my PhD in late ancient and byzantine arthistory and I love to talk about historical myths. I've been 2014 in Africa, Namibia and 2018 in Ethiopia for research purposes and I absolutely fell in love with those countries! :) I'll definitely return!

  • books
  • music
  • art history
  • vegetarian food
  • archaeology
  • local food
  • museums and exhibitions
  • local restaurants
  • venice
  • local markets
  • hidden places

Music, Movies, and Books

Intouchables, The fantastic world of Amelie, Avatar, Simpsons, An inconvenient truth, Documentaries etc.
Ludovico Einaudi, Chet Faker alias Nick Murphy, Coldplay, Of Monsters and Men, Billy Talent, Kings of Leon, Moon Taxi etc.
Die Glasbläserin von Murano, Das Geheimnis des Frühlings, Die Madonna von Saronno etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The Coldplay concerts in Munich 2012 and 2017. It was one of my biggest goals: my first concert has to be a concert of Coldplay! :)
The first time I saw Venice. I was 13 or 14 and I was totally impressed of the Mark-lion. You know, I love lions and you have to see me in a city full of lions!^^
When I was working in an animal shelter in Namibia and took care together with people from the whole world about wild animals like lions, cheetah, lepards, birds, duiker aso.. I loved to work together with animals! :)
My research in Ethiopia, which included everything I love in my life: art history, rich culture, nature, people, archaeology, spirituality aso...! I just fell in love with Ethiopia!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share my baking skills, share my historical knowledge and my stories! I can also teach you some german if you want to. I think, having a great time together is the most important! ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my historical knowledge of some places with you! :) Usually I check out the places I travel to in advance and try to see what's the most interesting historical places, so that I also read a bit about it. But I'm also really happy to spend time together but also can spend perfectly time on my own! :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ethiopia, France, Greece, Italy, Namibia, Russian Federation, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Germany, Italy

Join Couchsurfing to see Carolin’s full profile.

My Groups