Logo orange

Matthew Roy

Madrid, Madrid, Spain

Not Accepting Guests

0% response rate · Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 81 Positive References1 Neutral1 Negative
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Chinese, French, Italian, Sign Language - American
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • No occupation listed
  • Master
  • From Lafayette, LA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Whenever it's possible , I travel! Try to spend time in less-known places.

Learning about different cultures is my passion, and talking with people is the best way to do this. I like to talk.

I enjoy meeting POSITIVE people.

Born and raised in Louisiana, USA; Proud to be Cajun.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I love to travel and meet people through Couchsurfing. One day, I hope to have a couch of my own to share.

I am lucky to have been hosted by great people through CS in many places:
1 month Eurotrip: Madrid - Bilbao - Paris - Zurich - Amsterdam - Prague - Warsaw - Krakow - Auschwitz - Budapest - Belgrade - Skopje - Thessaloniki - Athens - Patras - Siena - Florence - Milan - Madrid

Hong Kong
Canada
Mexico
Dominican Republic
Puerto Rico
Spain
Sardinia
Portugal
Morocco
Brazil
Ireland
Australia
France (Paris, Lyon, Toulouse, Bordeaux)
Netherlands
Gambia
Senegal
Germany
Hawaii

Interests

people, talking, learning, traveling, languages (want to practice French), Asia (China), Latin America (Mexico)

photography, cuisine (especially cheese and sweets), books, art (especially realistic and impressionist art), foreign films, cable cars (telefericos, ski lifts, funiculars), museums, nightlife, mercados, cathedrals, stained glass

camping, biking, roller-blading, hiking, skiing, road-trips, nature, rock-climbing, table-tennis

SCUBA, snorkeling, surfing, jet-skiing, boats, swimming, lakes, rivers, waterfalls, beaches, beaches, beaches

I don't like coffee

Music, Movies & Books

movies:
foreign films (Chinese and Mexican are two of my favorites)
documentaries
travel series
old films (60's, 70's)

music:
salsa (anything Spanish, really)
R&B
gospel
new age /inspirational (Yanni)
pop (selectively)
country

books:
biographies
memoirs
good novels

The Holy Bible
The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Visited 10+ countries in 1 month (interrail).
Kayaked through a Bioluminescent Bay in Puerto Rico.
Lept into a dark cave filled with water in the Dominican Republic.
Came face to face with a giant mountain lion while hiking alone in Texas.
Canoed to from the USA to Mexico in the Rio Grande River.
Hiked to Crypt Lake in Canada.
Climbed to the edge of the Grand Canyon.
Trudged through rice paddies in China.
Jogged to glacial Lake Angeles before the sun came up--and then jogged back down.
Bungee-jumped into a Mexican valley.
Called the numbers for bingo at a nursing home.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn more languages, and hear stories about foreign places. But will learn anything you want to teach.

What I Can Share With Hosts

I can help with English (native), Spanish, American Sign Language or Math. I can also share experiences and photos of places I've been to.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, France, Gambia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Macedonia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Senegal, Serbia, Switzerland

Countries I've Lived In

China, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile