Sophie Lenoir's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 90 references 61 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Subtitler
  • Linguistics and Literature (Spanish-English)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

Well, I'm smart, funny, intelligent, handsome, generous, ... Okay, that's enough boasting about me.
To be serious, I think I'm quite open-minded. I enjoy trying out new things, discovering places, meeting people... Absurd/impulsive actions often turn out to be the best experiences. Unfortunately I sometimes tend to think too much and over-rationalize things. But Couchsurfing has been great in that it's put me in the craziest situations that end up being amazing memories.

Some random things I like: being woken up by the sunshine, the satisfaction after an intensive work-out, the sound of the Spanish language, picnics in the park, sleeping in on a Sunday morning...

I'm currently working on my own travel website: www.bittenbythebug.be

PHILOSOPHY

Open your mind.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have travelled a considerable amount of time using couchsurfing. I had the luck to always meet amazing people, and they helped me to experience their city in an amazing way. In return I try to host in Brussels as well.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been quite some times on both sides of the couch, both the offering and receiving one. Here's to the people I want to remember :)

Hosting:
- Australia: Jack
- Bahrain: Ayman
- Brazil: Rafael & Vanessa
- England: Ernie
- France: Emilien, Florence & Théo
- Germany: Patrick, Juan
- Hungary: Lilla & Sofie
- Israel: Or
- Korea: Gaeun
- Mexico: Mirei, Paola & Eli & Daniel, Eduardo
- Netherlands: Tanya & Anya, Gabriel, Tahsin
- New Zealand: Rory
- Poland: Michelle & Sonia
- Singapore: Sock
- Slovakia: Martina & Kristina
- Taiwan: Shuo-Wen
- Turkey: Melik
- Poland: Kinga
- Portugal: Sara
- United States: Daniel & Richard, Claire

Surfing:
- Argentina: Francisco
- Bosnia and Herzegovina: Suzana
- Brazil: Luis & Gabriel, Dennes
- Croatia: Igor, Juraj,
- Czech Republic: Lukas & Tomas
- Hungary: Lena, Edit, Kris
- Italy: Sara
- Morocco: Dagmara
- Poland: Klaudia & Radek
- Turkey: Serhat & Ferhat, Rahim, Ali, Deniz, Ibrahim
- Vietnam: Calvin (China), Igor (Russia), Dzung

Random encounters:
- Canada: Lindsay
- France: Chris
- Germany: Ann-Sophie
- England: Bronwyn
- Oman: Massoud
- Poland: Marta
- Spain: Monica
- Sweden: Alfred

Interests

Most of all I love travelling, I enjoy meeting new people and discovering new cultures and mentalities. The advantage of couchsurfing for me is that if I cannot travel myself, at least I can bring 'the world' to me via travellers from all over the world.

I like discovering new places, even Brussels. I'll be discovering the city, together with my couchsurfers. There is just so much to do in this city.

  • photography
  • beer
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • surfing

Music, Movies, and Books

MOVIES: Cria cuervos, Coco Chanel, Ratatouille...

BOOKS: Too hard to choose!

MUSIC: Jack Johnson, The Eagles, Editors, Goose, Ojos de Brujo, Paolo Nutini, Camaron de la isla (La leyenda del Tiempo).....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

On the last day of our internship in Sevilla, my best friend and I figured out a memorable way to end this great period. So at night (a cold February night) we swam in the Guadalquivir. Freezing cold, but so much fun!

During half a year I put life on 'pause' and travelled around South-America. It was like living a dream, not having to worry about anything except for my next destination. It must've been one of the happiest times in my life.

Teach, Learn, Share

SOME TRICKS FOR A POSITIVE ANSWER TO YOUR REQUEST :)

Currently I'm trying to learn more about photography, photoshop, webdesign, InDesign and indoor gardening.
Being able to help me with these subjects or with IT in general are a plus point. I'd love to learn from you! :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can "teach" you
- something abour our Belgian beers
- where to buy the best belgian (!) fries
- a thing or two about Ghent. Bars are my speciality. I've spent more than 4 years visiting all the bars in town and still haven't finished. The fact that most of them still are special in their own way is something I really like about Ghent.
- how to pronounce SUPERCALIFRAGILISTICEXPIALIDOCIOUS !

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Peru, Portugal, Russian Federation, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile.

My Groups