Karen O'Briant

Eaton Rapids, MI, United States

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Karen’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Legal Researcher
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Trying to understand and communicate with critters of all kinds, and spending time traveling or short spontaneous adventures.


I am very easy going, friendly and up-beat. Funny and likes to have a good time. Easy to talk to. I have a interest in meeting people and learning and sharing stories of life.
My husband is a very hard working man who also is up-beat and outgoing. Talks a bit too much but means well ! My 25year old son sometime lives here but works in Alaska for the summers . He enjoys skateboarding and surfing the internet and doing what 25 years old do. Very funny and a very respectful kid.


My husband pass away at a young age..I realized that life is just too dang short to be angry at the world. I try to steer myself away from negative people and enjoy what I am doing and look forward to what ever lies ahead. I am trusting and like to find the good in everyone. I raised two nice, well adjusted sons and remarried in 2007.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I am always looking for surfers who need a place...even though I am off the beaten path where most are traveling. I take like to think that I am accommodating to everyone's needs and give them space when needed. My participation in CS has been a plus. Hosting and Surfing.


I have been a surfer and had a few surfers stay with me and all experiences were a plus ! I am looking forward to my 2014 Alaskan trip to do some more.


I love the outdoors..My passion is Jeeping. I enjoy driving on exciting terrain and seeing just what my Jeep will do. I have a very nice off road Jeep that I take pride in building up mostly myself. I also like to maintain my home inside and out. I can fix just about anything. I like photography and meeting interesting people. Camping, fishing and all motor sports. I also like weight lifting and walking, hiking.

Music, Movies, and Books

Not too much into sitting and watching many movies or TV I do like half hour sitcoms. As for books I am more of a magazine gal, and music is very wide spread from bluegrass to some heavy metal and everything in between.

I like the book "Into the Wild"

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I traveled to Alaska by myself for 2 weeks. After reading a book about the last woman to homestead property in AK. I was able to meet up with her son and he took me to the property that was far from anything. I was able to visit and stay for a few days and hear stories about him growing up and having to kill his first bear when he was 9 years old...It was awesome. I thought at the time that it was a trip of a lifetime..But have traveled back again only to be again fascinated with the mountains and terrain that Alaska has to offer.

Other trips I have taken mostly involve my Jeep...Travels to off-road parks around the country, trying different terrains. I did travel to Mexico for a short day trip and have be in Canada a few times.

Teach, Learn, Share

I may not be a great teacher. I learn by experience and trial and error. I am willing to try anything and have a adventurous side to me. I don't have a problem with sharing what I know and what I have if someone is interested. I know most about Jeeps and how they work, just from my own experience in building and driving mine.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Mexico, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Karen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups