Gunnar KVERNENES's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 14 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gunnar’s full profile.


  • 106 references 100 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Norwegian; learning German
  • 62, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Credit manager Innovation Norway Arctic
  • Horticulture, The Norwegian University of Agriculture
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION I want to visit all of Europe together with my wife ABOUT ME I am a nice guy at the age of 60, living together with my lovely wife of 58. We have two sons, 37and 32 years old, but they have moved away from home. We prefer hosting People for 2-4 days, to get to know our surfers, serve them some Norwegian Food and let them serve us some Food from their Kitchen. We find it more easy/less demanding to host a couple/two persons than individual surfers, but we sometimes also host individuals.. We don't host just "overnighters" from one late night to next early morning. Since I work in town during the week and don't go to town in the weekend, we prefer CSers who not arrive Friday night, Saturdays or Sundays or leave Saturdays or Sundays. Short weekend surfers will make me drive extra, since there are no buses in the weekends. PHILOSOPHY If you treat other people well, they will treat you well.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


We participate mainly by hosting, informing our CSers about Norwegian history, society and daily life - and what to see in Tromso and Northern Norway. We also can correspond with CSers, even if we cannot host them.


We have hosted CS for 7 years, and we have only had positive experiences: A lot of nice people from all over the world are travelling.

We have couchsurfed ourselves twice, and have experienced that is not always easy since Hanne uses a wheelchair, and most houses/flats are not built for wheelchair use. It is however possible.


Travelling, food, gardening

  • dining
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Neither of us is particularly interested in movies, music and books - even if we occasionnally go to the theater, watch a movie - and listen to music on the radio...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Life is a puzzle of many small pieces put together.

Teach, Learn, Share

Norway - in many ways a different country. I can tell you much about Norwegian food, history, industries and and way of living.

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Gunnar’s full profile.