Hamish Appleby's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hamish’s full profile.

Overview

  • 28 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 53, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Freelance Photographer / https://www.hamishjohnappleby.com/
  • MFA - Fine Art (Media Art-Photography), BFA-Fine Art.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I grew up in inner city Melbourne, I've spent the last 15 years living and working as a photographer in both Germany and Sri Lanka. I dream of living by the sea somewhere in the Mediterranean and walking through unknown landscapes abound with the smell of pine trees and the sea.

I finished walking the Camino Sureste (1100km) in 2022, I also walked the Camino Via Del La Plata, in 2019, the Camino Norte in 2018, Camino Frances and Camino Portuguese both in 2017. Over the last 3 years I've been exploring the Australian nature going on road trips and camping and hiking.

*I might be able to host you - If I can - then you will have your own room 2 nights would be max. - I am based in West Brunswick - Close enough to public transport about 30 min into town.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE - stayed all over America and Iceland with CS, its a really fabulous and valuable experience. I have hosted in Germany as well.

Lived, worked and travelled in over 50 countries. I have met and stayed with many amazing and inspiring people - and hopefully inspired some along the way. People have also enjoyed staying in my space too.

Interests

Just committed to reading - The Man Without Qualities, Robert Musil... Looking at going to Europe Mid year for a month or so, tossing up between learning French or Spanish and trying to learn a few chords on my acoustic guitar.

  • animals
  • writing
  • photography
  • acting
  • dancing
  • animal welfare
  • dining
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • fitness
  • walking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • jazz
  • healthy food
  • healthy eating
  • healthy lifestyle
  • humour
  • healthy cooking

Music, Movies, and Books

Favourite book that so far no other books: 'Crime and Punishment'. Dostoyevsky. Next to that 'Lying on the Couch by Irvin D. Yalom'. Also 'Love in the Time of Cholera' by Gabriel García Márquez. Also - The Great Gatsby, The Catcher in the Rye, A New Earth, The Power Of Now, 11 Minutes, Heart Of Darkness, Lolita, The Trail, The Stranger, To Kill A Mockingbird, The Sun Also Rises, The Old Man And The Sea, The Unknown Masterpiece, The Zahir, Invisible Cities,

Music: Fela Kuti, Nina Simone, John Coltrane...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have worked with Elephants in Sri Lanka, photographing them and learning about them to write and produce a book that highlights the importance of keeping elephants in the wild and national parks as part of the biodiversity chain.

Teach, Learn, Share

Photography tips, vegan inspired cooking, stories of my adventures on three Caminos. - Check out my website: www.hamishjohnappleby.com or check out my little film on Camino Notre - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t3e8kQSUmhQ

What I Can Share with Hosts

Healthy cooking, conversations over a cup of tea, walking through the streets and visiting cafes… All the normal stuff I guess.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Ghana, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Maldives, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Namibia, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France, Germany, Sri Lanka, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Hamish’s full profile.