Harald Flecke

Duesseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Accepting Guests

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Harald’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, German; learning Chinese (Simplified), French
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Pretending to work in an insurance company
  • Studied mathematics and economics
  • From Paderborn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


preparing to travel the whole world


I am an open minded person with a dry sense of humour, interested to travel the world and to get to know different cultures. I am also a very determined person and at the same time really relaxed.


Beauty is nothing without brains.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I like to meet new people in Düsseldorf, be it for a coffee/beer, a tour of Düsseldorf or through hosting. I also like to surf couches in other cities, a wish I haven't really gotten yet to satisfy.


Found a language partner, had fun in different cities, showed around people in Heidelberg, slept in a crazy shared apartment before a job interview, hosted two Taiwanese studying abroad in Germany and one Hungarian girl attending a biotechnology conference.

In Düsseldorf, I hosted several people, showing off my advanced local knowledge of the Rheinland area (... it does not exist. I guess I am the wrong person if you want to know specifics about this or that building in the city :P ) and hanging out with international visitors just passing by - all that besides my intensive work schedule and not too seldom weekend activities in other cities / countries.


Studying Chinese, traveling, beaches, wakeboarding, snowboarding, reading, consulting,...

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Elektro, French, Tech, Progressive, Vocal, Funky und Disco House, Ska, (Punk)Rock, Alternative, Drum & Bass, Clueso...

Books: Horror, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Thriller, Manga etc.

Movies: The Place beyond the Pines, Seven Psychopaths, Silver Linings Playbook, Kick Ass, Avatar, Pulp Fiction, Bang Boom Bang, The Matrix, Boondock Saints, Juno, The Bank Job, Pan's Labyrinth, The Girl Next Door, Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, The Abyss, The Prestige, The Illusionist, Shoppen, Amelie, Ghost Town, V for Vendetta and a lot more - I always forget which ones I like though, so this list is never up to date ;)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Lived in LA for a year for studies abroad :-)

Teach, Learn, Share

From my studies I could pass on some knowledge about Mathematics or Economics. I feel that especially Mathematics is not such a popular topic to talk about ;-)

I studied some French in high school and university classes - it is now a little bit rusty though. Another language I'm now studying is Chinese - help there is greatly appreciated :-) Mostly I'm still only learning characters after a 1 month language course in Beijing.

Other than that, I'm always interested in learning about other cultures and sharing travel experiences, discussing multiple perspectives, ...

What I Can Share with Hosts

See "Teach, Learn, Share" - in addition my genuine interest and dry humor (=

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Romania, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Harald’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups