Samantha Mathews's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samantha’s full profile.


  • 69 references 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • ESL instructor
  • Bachelor's Degree, San Francisco State University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To live at peace with all people.

Hey! I'm Samantha... otherwise known as Trek Star Sam! I am a youtube vlogger! Check me out and please subscribe!! Trying to reach 1000 subscribers in 6 months!

Currently I'm living and teaching English in Bucharest, Romania.

I am a 36 year old woman who was born and raised and in San Francisco, CA, I teach ESL (CTESOL certified) and I have my own freelance writing and editing business. I LIVE to travel and I'm constantly looking for ways that I can do it more economically as well as get the most out of any experience. I can seem shy at first, but once I get to know a person I will go out of my way to help them and do what I can for them.

In addition to English I speak Japanese (semi-fluently) and beginning Spanish, Italian and Turkish. I'd love to learn more of these languages and I am pretty obsessed with learning different languages because it really does help out when traveling and it lets people know that you're interested in THEM and their culture and not just sightseeing in their country. My dream is to be able to make basic conversation in every major language of the world.

I love to write. To me, writing is like breathing. It comes naturally and I must do it to survive. I am working on my first travel book that will be centered around solo woman travelers, because I (usually) travel alone. All couch surfers will get an autographed copy when it's done! Hehe. I also write science fiction, fantasy and poetry books as well as poems and sonnets.


Live your life to the fullest-- this is NOT a rehersal!
Always look your best. Life is too short to wear boring clothes!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


By attending events, showing people around the city.


Great experiences! I have surfed in many counties and it has been a fantastic experience and I met some wonderful people. I try to keep to the true spirit of couch surfing which means sharing platonic hospitality with travelers from all over the world.

I wish I didn't have to write this next part, but common sense is not so common anymore.... Men, please keep in mind that cs is not a dating or hook up site! I wish I could tell you how many times I surfed with guys and it started great then at some point, inappropriate touching or requests (massages, etc) started! After I said no the hosts became cold and uncaring and it was really awkward for me to stay after that! CS is not a website to exchange hospitality for sex!!! Please do not accept me to stay with you if you can't respect boundaries. Perhaps some women do but I don't travel or do CS to have one night or one weekend stands with random guys! I am here solely for new friends, cultural exchange, etc! if you find me attractive, thank you for it but I don't surf with you to sleep with you, and if I'm hosting you I will put you out if you try any kind of sexual advances. I want to meet people interested in me for who I am, people who share the same interests and PLATONIC friendship, nothing more! Before hosting me or being hosted I will ask you if you are clear on this. Sorry if my assertiveness comes off as rude but it's better to be up front now to avoid misunderstandings later. Guys, before hosting me or being hosted by me, please mention my favorite singer "Bjork" so I can be sure you read and understand this part, thank you!


Travelling, languages, vlogging, dreaming, ethnic cuisines and cultures, sightseeing, vegetarianism karaoke, restaurants, cafes, theaters....

Huge interest: People! My new years resolution for this year was to meet 5 new people per week. Since I work at a school it's not hard but I'd like to make more meaningful contacts and relationships, people to spend time and to share life with.

I love fashion and cheap/thrift/charity store shopping. You can always find great bargains for fantastic prices!

Music, Movies, and Books

I love BJORK. I think she is absolutely the best singer in the world. I don't think I could get on well with anyone who hated BJORK since I adore her to the point where I don't like to listen to anyone say anything negative about her! Other music I LOVE is: Radiohead, Unbelievable Truth, Kula Shaker, The Killers, Oasis, Skunk Anansie, Travis, Tori Amos, Coldplay, Mundy, Weezer... My favorite author(ess) of all time is Emily Bronte. I love Wuthering Heights with a passion and have read it millions of times. I also enjoy various works by Terry Prachett, Patricia C. Wrede, Anne Rice, Toni Morrison, J.K. Rowling, Edwidge Danticat, Charlotte Bronte, Anne Bronte, Andrew Sean Greer, Lisa See, James Joyce, Henry James, Virginia Woolf, William Shakespeare, Marlowe, Daniel Defoe, Charles Dickens, Sherman Alexie, J.R.R. Tolkien, Kate Chopin, etc.

TV/Movies: Interview With the Vampire (all time favorite!)
LOTR/Hobbit Star Trek (old school!) Star Wars (old school!)
Game of Thrones (obsessed!) Will talk for hours about the Lannisters! :)
Old school BBC comedies like Are You Being Served, Faulty Towers, Keeping Up Appearances, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Colleseum of Rome
Great Buddah of Todaiji Temple in Nara, Japan

Teach, Learn, Share

I will be happy to teach you English! I've been an English teacher for 10 years! I also opened my own English speaking cafe in Turkey and in Poland.... I love to have discussions with people to help them improve their knowledge of English!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Lots of fun, good times, laughter, sincere friendship and caring, etc.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Poland, Turkey, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    7 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Samantha’s full profile.

My Groups