Heidi Peters's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 3 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Heidi’s full profile.

Overview

  • 73 references 61 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish; learning French
  • 64, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Language Teacher and Social Worker
  • College
  • From Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

PLEASE NOTE: I am not interested in using CS as a chat room or a dating platform and I never accept friend requests from people who I have not met personally! For me CS is for meeting real people!

COVID-19: Since all of us in the house are vaccinated I have started to host again. I am so happy that traveling is possible again and that we had some nice guests during the last weeks.

2016 my biggest dream has come true! I've been traveling Latin America January to May from the Atlantic to the Pacific Ocean. Met a lot of nice and open minded people on CS who hosted me, met up or helped with information on my way through Argentina, Paraguay, Bolivia, Perú and Costa Rica. Back home I enjoy meeting travelers here and giving back hospitality. And I developed the habit of traveling about 2 months every year. Last year I spent 2 weeks on Tenerife and 4 weeks in the Mexico - then Corona forced me to go home and stay here. Last winter with the hard lockdown, all borders closed, cold and ugly weather and the regulation to open all classroom windows every 20 minutes was the hardest in my life and made us all pretty tough. But now I am going to retire by the end of the year and hope to be able to travel again soon.

I am living with my husband in Darmstadt, Germany, about 30 km from Frankfurt/Main. Our two sons are grown up and have moved out . Now we are sharing our house with students from different parts of the world, enjoying cultural exchange in everyday life and laughing about all the little misunderstandings.

I have been working many years as a social worker in a local prison until 2015 but then jumped out of the hamster wheel, quit the job, went traveling, did some qualifying and started to teach German which I enjoy very much since I have students from all over the world attending my classes. Inspired by my travel experiences I am trying out a lot of new things.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My husband and I are interested in meeting people and learning more about foreign cultures. We like to travel a lot ourselves, as well as welcoming people at our home.

Interests

I love travelling, getting to know people and look for good places to live. I like camping, gardening and all kinds of outdoor activities, also crafts (making jewelry from little things), sewing, painting and improoving my languages. I am interested in ecology and sustainable living, vegetarian and vegan food and saving energy and recources.

  • dining
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • crafts
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • painting
  • outdoor activities
  • camping
  • ecology
  • languages
  • social work

Music, Movies, and Books

I like folk music from different countries, specially from Latin America and novels that discribe different societies - either historical or from another part of the world or fantasy. I hate to watch TV.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Traveling through the jungle across the Orinoco delta with two Indian women in a canoo, 600 km from Guyana to Venezuela.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am engaged in the Transition Town Movement and like to learn and share everything that helps us to save energy and recources and live more resiliant. This can be rescilling, recycling, new tecniques, gardening ...
I also like to teach languages and improve my own. I think this is important for peace and understanding in the world.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Show them my town, which is a vivid student city, located between Frankfurt and Heidelberg.
Show them how we live here and share a few hours life.
There is a bed to sleep in in a seperate room and a kitchen to use.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, Cameroon, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, France, Greece, Guyana, Hungary, India, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Peru, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Heidi’s full profile.

My Groups