Johanna Roihuvuo's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Johanna’s full profile.

Overview

  • 31 references 29 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Finnish; learning Estonian, French, German, Swedish
  • 40, Other
  • Member since 2011
  • Coordinator (spouse is a Senior Software Developer)
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

We are an open-minded, green and science-oriented young family: Johanna (38), Mikko (36), Venla (11) and Osmo (8).

I'm a generalist and an active citizen. I have a part-time job, but mostly I spend my time taking part in voluntary action and local politics. People tend to describe me logical, reliable, friendly and calm.

My husband Mikko is a senior software developer. He is passionate about his job and enjoys intensive discussions. We have a good relationship and try to put effort to keep it that way.

Our children are born 2008 and 2011, so they're both in school now. Having children hasn't made life too complicated. Whatever we do, kids just take part in it in their own way or invent their own activities. They tend to adapt very well to having people around.

We live in our own apartment in an ecological community. Neighbours and friends are always welcome for a visit, so there's a chance that our guests may meet more people than just the four of us during their stay.

Although the profile is under my name, almost all the references are about our family - most of the time we've hosted and traveled together.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

"What do we live for, if it is not to make life less difficult for each other?" - George Eliot

It's important and fascinating to learn more about the world and people. We've educated ourselves by opening our home for travellers rather than constantly travelling around the globe with the family and leaving an unsustainable carbon footprint. By welcoming the world to visit us, we have met a lot of interesting people and got international experiences while staying home in Tampere. In exchange to their contribution, we've offered our guests an opportunity to learn about life, culture and people in Finland.

When we started Couchsurfing almost ten years ago, it quickly became a lifestyle and a natural part of our life. Back in those days we hosted around 50-60 guests. After that we took a longer break from CS hosting, as we had small kids, lived in a small apartment and used our hosting capacity to help asylum seekers for a while. Now we're back again, looking to meet interesting people and to help our kids grow into the global world.

We are not here to support unsustainable consumerism where people fly to another country for the weekend just for the fun of it. We want to help out and connect to people who have a meaningful reason to travel or who have put some thought on how to do their travels in a responsible manner. We also don't have the capacity to run a free hotel, so people who see CS as some kind of a free AirBnB and just want to book a room for the night, should contact someone else.

Interests

We have green values and try to live our life accordingly, but are not too strict about it. Recycling and sharing are a natural part of our life. We cook vegan or vegetarian food, but are OK with our guests bringing any food in the house. We don't have a car so we bike and use public transportation or use shared and rental cars if needed.

Both me and Mikko love to discuss, and we share an interest in politics, science, social justice, environmental questions and sustainable living. I have a professional interest in education and I'm fascinated to hear life stories and learn anything new. Mikko will easily get carried away with deep and serious discussions.

We enjoy meeting people, cooking, playing board games and watching movies. We also own a small community garden cottage where we regularly visit to relax and take care of the apple trees and berry bushes.

Our intention is to meet people with various backgrounds, beliefs, values and opinions, so you're definitely welcome to visit us and see how we live even if our profiles don't match. There is always a special place in our hearts for like-minded travellers, though, so if you're in town and feel like you'd belong here, send a message.

  • culture
  • books
  • documentaries
  • diy
  • education
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • vegetarian
  • sauna
  • politics
  • technology
  • board games
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • teaching
  • science
  • software

Music, Movies, and Books

We watch online movies and TV series occasionally. Animations, documentaries, drama and sci-fi appeal to both of us. Mikko enjoys action and fantasy genres, too. We often run into interesting TEDTalks about science, technology and global issues, but also relax by watching completely nonsense series and video clips.

When it comes to music, I like Finnish bands and British rock/pop, whereas Mikko listens to metal, classical music and a capella. Mikko also plays classical guitar and sings in a choir.

Most of the books I read these days are nonfiction, but I try to keep up with contemporary fiction, too. Poetry is also close to my heart, as our community arranges a poetry festival every two years. Mikko used to listen to sci-fi, fantasy and science e-books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Most amazing thing is that me and my kids are still alive and our family is doing fine. I suffered from severe pre-eclampsia when I was pregnant. My daughter was born three months and son two months premature and they had to spend months in intensive care. Although the Nordic welfare society has its downsides, I still think it's one of the most amazing things people have created together.

Teach, Learn, Share

Exchanging ideas and knowledge is very inspiring - societies, cultures, politics, ways of living and personal interests.

We could teach you to play some board games, as we are game geeks. As native Finns and having lived almost twenty years in Tampere we also know our share about national heritage and can introduce you local foods, take you to sauna or guide you around the city. We're both quite tech-savvy.

It would be great to learn do-it-yourself crafting and new vegetarian recipes from all over the world. If you have recommendations about interesting web pages, books or documentaries, we'd be happy to hear about them. We're also interested in gardening and community living around the world.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We are flexible and independent guests and can bring everything we need with us, so you can take it easy. We can cook you a meal or help you with the chores. We'll tell you anything you want to know about our country, culture and language, and give you a chance to see your own country, city or life in a new light.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Johanna’s full profile.

My Groups