Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Holly’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • artist, tour guide, animal caretaker
  • B.S. in Zoology and a minor in Español
  • From Detroit area, Michigan, USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live my life like a book worth reading.

ABOUT ME

Hi, I'm Holly. Nice to meet you!

I like a lot of things. Sometimes I think I have too many interests and I have a hard time figuring out which ones to pursue. Many of them come and go, but one interest that has stuck with me my entire life is travel.

I analyze my feelings and motivations often, and I have spent a lot of time trying to figure out what about travel I love so much. Travel is renewal. Travel is being thrown outside of your comfort zone and made to either find your way back in, or more likely, how to cope outside of it. Travel is novelty. Travel is being overwhelmed by so many new faces, smells, sights and sounds. Travel is stimulation. Travel is introspection. Travel is learning what you are capable of doing, and what gets the best of you. Travel is connection. Travel is experiencing people and places so different from you at first glance, but so very similar after a night sitting up drinking tea and talking about your childhood. Travel is humanity. Travel shows you what the world has and what it needs to be a better place for us to live in. The world is a book, and those who do not travel only read one page. I like reading, and I wish to finish the story.

I guess if I had to name some adjectives I think I am, I would say intelligent, open minded and open hearted, curious, introspective, forgiving, cheerful, goofy, quiet, reflective, spacey.

PHILOSOPHY

I see life as a series of experiences. I think it's okay to be impulsive and to take risks. I think it's okay to value fun and good times. Life is more of a playground than a battlefield.

That being said, I do want to leave something greater than myself behind. Something that has true positive impact on this world. I'm still trying to figure that one out.

I believe in kindness, mercy and grey area perspective on right and wrong (as opposed to black and white.)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Right now I live with my partner's parents while we search for a new home of our own , so I cannot host. Once we find and buy our place (looking in Oakland mostly) we have plans to host. My partner used to host at his old place, and I would join sometimes to help show travelers around. It was great fun and we both miss it.

I am focusing a lot of my energy on work stuff right now, so I am not doing as much travel as I used to. But I do have a few trips planned for 2016 and would love to spend some time during each trip staying with fellow Couchsurfers.

I also very much enjoy meeting people who are traveling, and so I use CS to attend events when I have the time. I am always excited to show off my city to those coming to visit.

Interests

As I said above, I have a lot of interests and they are always changing. But for right now I am really into drawing, crocheting, dancing, hiking and outdoor exploration, reading, baking, and of course, my dog.

  • animals
  • dogs
  • books
  • dancing
  • dining
  • wine
  • baking
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • crochet
  • painting
  • drawing
  • piano
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • physics
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

All nerds could fill this little box up easily, so I'll keep it short and sweet.

Movies: The Royal Tenenbaums, I <3 Huckabees, Moulin Rouge, V for Vendetta, Stardust

Music: Belle and Sebastian, Massive Attack, Air, The Velvet Underground, Die Antwoord, Steam Powered Giraffe, the Smiths

Books: Most anything by Christopher Moore, the Harry Potter series, Lolita, The Elegance of the Hedgehog, Flowers for Algernon, the Perks of Being a Wallflower, currently reading a rotation of nonfiction art books

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you about animals, dancing with a hula hoop, how to draw, how to crochet, how to bake some treats, and about San Francisco.

I would love to learn how to play the piano, more about science (particularly physics) and how to paint and/or draw much better.

I think everyone has something to teach and if you're willing to show me, I'm willing to learn pretty much anything.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I know a little about a lot! I can share conversation on a variety of topics. I can share travel stories and a listening ear. I can share a good bottle of wine, good food, and baked treats. Maybe most importantly, I can share silence and space comfortably. :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Canada, Cayman Islands, Denmark, France, Germany, Honduras, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Puerto Rico, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Holly’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups