Uli Holtkamp

Argenta, British Columbia, Canada

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Uli’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish, Turkish
  • 56, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • homesteader (=organic farmer )
  • ongoing !
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


A rest from the farm life :O)


I grew up in Germany and Turkey.I now live in a tiny community in the mountains of British Columbia,Canada. We live of the land and produce all the fruit, vegetables and meat that we eat. We love nature, and try to go hiking and skiing when the farm work allows us to to do so. I have traveled a lot in the past , but for the last 22 years have been here on the homestead.
Now heading out into the world every 2nd winter or so.

Coming to Berlin in November 2015 and then Turkey until end of
February 2016. Looking forward to meet you ! Merhaba !!!

Please don't send me friend requests when we haven't even met yet :O)

Cheers. Uli


Live simple,be truthful.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I don't enjoy it very much sitting in a hostel with a bunch of other travelers , all looking into their devices...it is soooo boring. I just stopped traveling. Since CS exists I have made amazing trips and met even more amazing people.
Hosting WWOOF ers for 19years now, has been my way of CS ing and my life would be a lot poorer without it.


Hiking, cooking and eating good food, plants,gardening and more gardening, reading, movies, making a beautiful home, old and new friendships, alternative relationships.

Music, Movies, and Books

torch song trilogy,shortbus,his secret live,(movies),eartha kitt,il divo,(musik),on the road,goivannis room,the kiteflyer, middlesex(books)
and a lot more I can`t remember right now.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The snow covered mountain I am looking at right now through my window is amazing. Sleeping in the caves of Capadoccia and in an emergency snow cave at home was very memorable!

Teach, Learn, Share

On our tiny farm we have had wwoofers( willing workers on organic farms)and helpx-ers since 1996. That means hundreds of people have visited and in exchange for room and board helped us on the farm. Getting to know these wonderful people and teaching them all I know about living of the land has been one of the most fulfilling things I did in my life.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Amazing landscape, hiking, the experience of living on a farm where we produce most of our own food.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belize, France, Greece, Guatemala, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, Germany, Spain, Turkey

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Uli’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups