Louise Oliver's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 59% response rate
  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Louise’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 80 References 43 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian, Romanian
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Teacher
  • have a masters degree.
  • From Bury St Edmunds
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live.

ABOUT ME

I am an ambiverted female, technically 35 but I don't feel it yet. I used to be an introvert but I'm forcing myself to be more social.
I became an esl teacher as I wanted to yravel and see the world for about 5 years before I returned to the UK and found a proper job. This was a decade ago. In the interim I have lived in 6 countries, learned a huge amount, deceloped as a person and decided to settle with my fiance in Romania.
There are many things that I want to do and I don't know quite where to start!

I believe in a boarderless world.
I'm pretty anti big-organisations of any kind. I tend to feel people would be considerably better off left to their own devices and not told what to do all the time. I feel the world is free and we should not be artifically constrained by governments.

I like animals, films, strange people, books, facts...most things really.

PHILOSOPHY

Nothing makes any sense and life is a joke

To see the world in a grain of sand - Blake

Wrap up warm - my Granny

You can never have too man friends, too much change or too much underwear.

Don't follow an imaginary rulebook.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting and Surfing.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Travel round the Baltic states and central Europe. Hosted in Edinburgh,Bucharest, Milazzo, Moscow and Iasi. Surfed in Ireland and Australia.

Interests

Books, film, nature, anthropology, current affairs, literature, history, folklore, music, science. Actually most things interest me.

  • animals
  • fish
  • books
  • literature
  • folklore
  • cooking
  • flying
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • fishing
  • surfing
  • anthropology
  • teaching
  • history
  • science
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I like artfilms and classics. I don't watch a lot of hollywood stuff but it's good sometimes.
I have been a biblioaddict for as long as I can remember. I'll read anything good! Mostly biographies and Victorian novels as I have a strange obsession with the 19th c.
I like a mixture of music, from pop to rock to classical. I love choral music. I don't particularly like rap/hip hop or dance music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seen the sunrise on the first of January on a beach in Ghana
The whales and stingrays of Australia
The new year and cherry blossoms of Kyoto
The Aeolian islands of Sicily
The volcanoes of Kamchatka
The sands of Nida
The Grand Canyon
Niagara Falls
The Arabian desert
The the Corals of the Red Sea
Flying fish in the Persian Gulf
the Sky over East Anglia

And lived...

Teach, Learn, Share

He who binds himself to a joy
Doth the winged life destroy
He who catches the joy as it flies
Lives in eternity's sunrise
-Blake.

Corny, but I like it!

What I Can Share with Hosts

IELTS preparation, hopefully amusing stories and my personal interpretation of Indian cooking.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Ghana, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Finland, Ghana, Italy, Japan, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Louise’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups