Ilja Catharine de Langen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ilja Catharine’s full profile.

Overview

  • 38 references 32 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Sign Language - Dutch (NGT)
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • mental health professional
  • BA Pedagogical Sciences, MA Forensic Child&Youth Care...
  • From Huizen, North Holland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Explore and experience life with a smile :)

ABOUT ME

I am a 32yr old young woman who moved to Amsterdam after 8yrs of living in Utrecht, the Netherlands. I graduated in Forensic Child and Youth Care Sciences. Right now I am working as a receptionist at a Psychologist office which is specialized in ADHD and autism and at a sportinstitute for students, which is both lot of fun (mostly bc of meeting the ppl) :)

I love having drinks with fun ppl, meeting new people, travelling, psychology, music, movies, food, drinking, partying, singing, cats, talk about life, without taking everything too serious :)

PHILOSOPHY

Carpe diem.'Life is not (only) about finding yourself, but (also) about creating yourself'I believe it's good to stand still every once in a while in this busy life and to evaluate yourself and your goals in life. I believe in living in the moment (but not forget to learn from your past, and if needed, to improve something in the future).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love to meet new people from other cultures. I think CS is a great initiative for people to broaden their perspective on life. And I definitely think it's the best way to learn about a country and a culture by being hosted by a local!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosted: Finland (2)Greece (2)Czech (1)Israel (1)Peru (1)USA (1)Chili (1)Spain (1)
France (1)
Surfed: at 4 different people in Portugal (in Porto, Coimbra and Lisboa).
Brussels, Dublin, Patra (Greece)

More to come in the near future!All were one-of-a-kind super cool experiences!

Interests

Music (Festivals/Concerts)! Traveling, People, Philosophy, Culture, Modern Art, Comedy, Movies, Cats, Singing, Dreaming

  • cats
  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • singing
  • modern art
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • dining
  • partying
  • drinking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • psychology
  • hitchhiking
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: the Garden state, Juno, 500 days of Summer, the Butterfly effect, the Green mile, the Notebook, Big fish, Mr. NobodyMusic, to name a few:Austra, the Beach Boys, Beach House, Beirut, Bon Iver, Calvin Harris, Caribou, the Cranberries, Crystal Castles, Cut Copy, Deadmau5, Goldfish, Goose, Gui Boratto, Interpol, Jamie Woon, Jose Gonzalez, Kings of Convenience, Local Natives, Lykke Li, Mark Ronson, Mayer Hawthorne, Miami Horror, Miike Snow, Oh Land, Passion Pit, the Postal Service, Royksopp, Santagold, Sia, the Smiths, Tame Impala, Those Dancing Days, Two Door Cinema Club, Warpaint, White Lies, the XX, Yeasayer. http://www.last.fm/user/iljaaah

Books: I am currently reading Nietzsche's tears by Irvin Yalom

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I try to enjoy every little thing in live, so therefore a lot of 'smaller' (unexpected) experiences can be amazing, but are 'in the moment', so harder to write down :) But the 'bigger' (planned) things which have been amazing and are partly influencing me as a human being (this sentence btw sounds more serious than I mean it to be ;) ), are:- Studying at the Univerisity of Florida (UF) for 1 semester in 2008The ending of this exchange period was also great: I 'lived' 2 weeks in an apartment in the middle of New York (Manhattan). I'm in love with that city!- Exchange with Serbian students from Niš with my faculty organisation (I spent 1 week in Serbia, they spent 1 week in Utrecht) in 2008- Same type of experience with Slovenian students from Ljubljana in 2010- Hitchhiking from Berlin to Utrecht in 2010- Interrailing through Eastern Europe in 2010- Traveling through Portugal in 2011- Volunteering at a project which introduces reading (picture) books in low-literate families.

Teach, Learn, Share

There is soooo much to learn! I think you can learn from anyone, even if it's something bad.I love to share thoughts about anything :)Sharing = Caring ;)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Macedonia, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Scotland, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ilja Catharine’s full profile.

My Groups