Petra Jan's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Petra’s full profile.

Overview

  • 28 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Serbo-Croatian, Slovene; learning Swedish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • PhD student and TA
  • Mechanical engineering
  • From Ljubljana, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a mechanical engineer on a mission to save the world from excess friction (polymer tribology) and I still believe in dragons and goodness. I love to travel and try something new every chance I get, dance a lot, do crazy stuff like aerial silks and fire spinning, read more than is healthy, collect beer coasters and hate pineapples with a passion.

I am a fairly open, independent and easy-going person. As long as I have enough to eat, I am equally comfortable sleeping on an airport bench or on a bed and I'm not afraid of breaking a nail. I believe everyone I meet deserves a healthy measure of respect unless proven otherwise and I expect the same. I consider myself an honest, polite and clean person, who is always willing to help out and talk about anything.

I never fully plan any longer trips, as I prefer to go with the flow and see where life takes me. I also often solo travel and I've met incredible people, who've shown me that the world is full of kindness and adventures, if you are open minded enough to let go. I've recently started a travel blog to hopefully infect others with a bit of my travelling positivity. You can find me at https://erraticengineeress.blog/ :) Instagram: @erratic.engineeress

My favourite part of travelling is meeting new people and experiencing their culture, way of thinking and the country's natural beauty, particularly the forests. I've found that spending a day out in nature in the middle of nowhere means more to me than visiting yet another city, although I love to visit a good museum.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I wish to meet new, interesting people and experience the local life during my travels.

One day, I would also like to host travellers from around the world for the same reasons, but unfortunately I do not have the space for it yet. I would love to meet up and show you around Ljubljana, if the timing fits :)

Interests

  • animals
  • diy
  • flamenco
  • swing dancing
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • video games
  • board games
  • reading
  • philosophy
  • science
  • solo travel
  • learning languages
  • programming
  • fantasy
  • travel blogging
  • pole dance
  • larp
  • aerial silks
  • mechanical engineering
  • firespinning
  • submarines

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Huge Tolkien fan! I read a lot, mostly fantasy and fiction books (the Dune chronicles,the Hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy etc. and of course Harry Potter) but also love classic lengthy novels, Clockwork Orange, Dostoyevski's writing and quite a lot of philosophy. My favourite writer is probably Carlos Ruiz Zafon and for books the Night train to Lisbon.

Movies: anything that moves me, from Pedro Almodovar to cartoons (How to train your dragon!). I consider One flew over the coockoo's nest a masterpiece.

Music: my taste varies lately, everything from flamenco, swing and jazz, psytrance, rock, classical music; I used to be a total metalhead, so that too.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Skydiving in Australia! Northern lights in Sweden! Hitchhiking with a postman in Isle of Skye! ... Life is too short to decide on one favourite thing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you a couple of ridiculous sounding words in Slovene language, cook a meal, share stories and tips from my travels and laugh the night away. Or if you prefer, I can discuss both proper literature and philosophy for hours or until you stop me. I can also do the more boring stuff, like tutor English, Physics or Math.

What I Can Share with Hosts

For the visitors to my country, I can show you the obvious and hidden spots around Ljubljana, join you for a night out or maybe even take you on a weekend trip out of town, if my weekend is free and the weather plays nice.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Sweden, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Slovenia, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Petra’s full profile.