Iona Feldman's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Iona’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Russian, Spanish; learning Arabic, Danish, German, Hebrew (modern)
  • 22, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • Brandeis University
  • From Boston, MA, USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

I'm originally from Kiev, Ukraine, though I've been living mostly in the vicinity of Boston, MA since I was 3 years old. My native language is Russian. Soon to begin my last year at Brandeis University, where I study Anthropology, Environmental Studies, and Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies. I am heavily involved in organizing work, primarily on issues of climate justice and Palestine solidarity.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

This summer, I am on a bike journey following the route of Line 5, a crude oil pipeline passing through Michigan and Wisconsin. We are hoping to speak to people who live right along the pipeline by canvassing their homes, and also by organizing various community events, highlighting the safety risks that this piece of infrastructure poses to the entire Great Lakes region, ultimately building momentum for the pipeline's shutdown. Please read more about us here. http://www.biketheline.org/
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We haven't been able to secure places to stay for every night yet, so we will likely often not have a roof over our head for this journey (we have a tent). But we were hoping to reach out to the Couchsurfing community for places to stay while along the route, if possible. If you can offer any location for us, even with minimal conditions of comfort, it would be greatly appreciated!

Interests

Social Movements.
Political Theory.
Runescape (The one online game that I've playing, counting on 11 years now...)
County Highpointing (Exactly what it sounds like, visiting the highest natural elevation in each US county. Check out my progress so far: http://peakbagger.com/map/CoHPMapStaticW.aspx?cid=8531)
Alternate History Books (see below)
Visiting New Places
Biking
Learning Languages (Duolingo!)
County Counting (Keeping track of all the counties that I've been to. Check out my progress here: http://www.mob-rule.com/user-gifs/mukmak.gif)

  • books
  • cycling
  • muslim
  • track and field
  • anthropology
  • environmental studies
  • history
  • languages
  • lakes

Music, Movies, and Books

Leftist protest music (Billy Bragg, Chumbawamba)
Russian/Ukrainian Folk Music
Historical Movies
Historical Fiction Books
Alternate History Books (see Harry Turtledove)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I'll get back to you on this

Teach, Learn, Share

Love to talk about stuff....

What I Can Share with Hosts

This summer, we can tell you all about our journey, idk, we'll see...

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Palestine, Romania, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Ukraine, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Iona’s full profile. It’s free!