Irina-Babich-O's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 99% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Irina-Babich-O’s full profile.

Overview

  • 49 references 41 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian, Spanish; learning Arabic, French, Italian
  • 42, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Finance
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Finding the balance - between stability + security... and ... change + adventure

ABOUT ME

I love traveling, and travel often - for business, leisure, for sports (tracking, cycling, walking, etc). I try to get something unique out of each trip, look for some incites. At the end I often compile a list of at least three new/unique experiences. Sometimes I like bringing 'travel' experience to my home by hosting a couple of travelers - that's why I am on CS))) I have lots of international friends, and generally open-minded, and 'person of the world'. So my guests would enjoy stay with me if they are international-minded and opened for ideas and exchange.

I have a four-year old son who absolutely loves having guests too! My son is very eager to meet and welcome anybody. And if you spend 30 minutes playing with him - you are his friend forever. My son may be with me or with his father (the father lives separately), but generally please write me if you are okay being around children.

PHILOSOPHY

A quote from the book I read: "... Hotels are wonderful inventions, but they are not the ideal window to the soul of a nation. In fact, they are designed to do exactly the opposite, to keep you and the country you're visiting at a comfortable distance..." :))

And another one from a Coursera course I am following: "The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes" - Marcel Proust

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am only interested in hosting those who understand the true spirit of Couch-surfing! (no free place to stay, etc). A new international dish to be cooked at my home is always welcome. Some suggestions of 'movies for thought', unique places to visit are always appreciated. Just a pleasant chat over coffee.... etc. I generally do not prefer to host anybody who can describe himself as 'crazy, wild, weird', and more interested in meeting intelligent, mature, deep, thoughtful, insightful, well-traveled, open-minded people. I always have my own life, and do not need or expect to spend a lot of time with my guests, but I am always interested to build in some mutually interesting activity.

My flat is new and comfortable, and I keep it very clean. I do expect the same of my guests, and of course these are the rules I follow when I travel. I will most certainly offer to have breakfast and tea/coffee together. My flat is about 30 minutes to the city center, in a very nice neighborhood.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have had some very interesting CS experiences. It is a bit like travelling - you never know exactly how it is going to turn out, but things often work out wonderfully! The more I host jointly with my son, the more I see his enthusiasm - and so my home remains open.

Interests

Generally, I have tried, and keep trying out a huge number of different activities - I am curious to try something new. Some remain, some stay in the past, it is a process))

Traveling, some photography.
Trying different food - the more unusual,the better)). Cooking, including Asian, Indian, ... you name it!
Learning languages (Arabic being the latest and the toughest).
Sports - cycling, swimming, hiking
Listening to Podcasts or other lectures on the go
Recently - style
Psychology, self-reflection
Salsa and latina.
Cycling trips around the country (2-3 days, 50-70 km each)
Recently a bit of oil painting and other art

  • books
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • working out
  • walking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • painting
  • podcasts
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • sports
  • swimming
  • business
  • languages
  • psychology
  • language exchange
  • art
  • cultures
  • kindness
  • learning
  • language learning
  • self-development
  • languages and cultures
  • self-improvement
  • diversity
  • meaningful conversation
  • child psychology

Music, Movies, and Books

"movies for thought", non-mainstream. Movies directed by Pedro Almodovar, by Emir Kusturitsa, etc.

Here are a couple: Non Ti Muovere, Baraka (this one is like nothing else), Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Everything is Illuminated, Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Harold and Maude, Love me if You Dare, Bridges of Madison County, Lovers of the Arctic Circle

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being 30 meters under water and seeing a fully compressed 0.5 liter bottle. That was scary!
Visiting 70+ countries. The list below is not quite complete. Now I am looking for new ways to travel, to make my travel experiences more meaningful
Discovering where self-reflection and awareness can take one

Teach, Learn, Share

New cooking recipe is perhaps the easiest and most enjoyable exchange for a couple of days stay. I am curious about many other things, so there are options)
Curious about fresh perspective on things, interesting hobbies and activities do do.
In each new destination I always look for something interesting and unique, that I cannot do elsewhere.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Basically everything I would expect when I host - just in reverse ;)
Hopefully a nice deep thoughtful conversation. Travel experiences (if we can go a bit deeper than the the mainstream things)
Cooking some Ukrainian or other dish
Sharing something new/insightful for me/guests

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, British Indian Ocean Territory, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ukraine, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Irina-Babich-O’s full profile.

My Groups