Iris Schmidt's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Iris’s full profile.

Overview

  • 54 references 42 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish
  • 45, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • German teacher
  • Translation Studies
  • From Zweibrücken, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Holaaaa, soy Iris! :-)

I was living for 10 years in Spain, where I have been working mainly as a German teacher. In 2014, on my second trip to India, I met Eva from Barcelona and we decided to go on a trip around Asia during 7 month. So I quit my job, left my flat and... we started our adventure! :-) On this journey, we also made our first CS experiences which we totally enjoyed!

In March 2015, our journey came to an end, but I didn't feel like going back to "normal life" and routine, so I decided to go for a new experience: volunteering as German Teacher at the NGO "RDT - Fundación Vicente Ferrer" in Anantapur, India, what I did for 15 months - and this was an amazing time, full of beautiful moments and unforgettable experiences!!! I have definitely fallen in love with India and its people!

After finishing my volunteering project, I was solo-traveling through this amazing country during 4 months and after a quick visit to Germany and Spain, I came back to India, working again as a German teacher.

My stay in India came to an end in 2020, and now, after spending the last 1,5 years in Germany due to COVID situation, I am looking very forward to start traveling again!!! :-)

I will start my trip at the end of November 2021 in Argentina, and I would also love to discover other countries in Southamerica :-)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think that Couchsurfing is a brilliant way to meet people from the places you are visiting and to get an insight view in their culture and share experiences. I love to meet different people and get to know their way of living.

Interests

I like hiking and trekking, reading, cooking, dancing (Lindy Hop, which you dance to swing music... and I would love to learn Bollywood :-)), Zumba, swimming and of course traveling, and I love animals.

  • animals
  • culture
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • meditation
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • languages
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Cuando los dioses escriben la historia del destino, La pasión india, El sari rojo
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Bollywood movies
Swing Music, Rock music (e.g. Guns 'n Roses, U2), Bollywood music

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Volunteering as German teacher at "RDT - Fundación Vicente Ferrer" in India.

Teach, Learn, Share

We can practice a basic conversation in German, if you are interested ;-)
And of course, I can share the German and the Spanish culture with my host or guest and we could prepare a typical dish together, for example.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I like to share experiences with my hosts and guests and I am an open-minded, flexible, joyful and positive person. And as I have been living in different countries (Germany, Spain and India), we can share information and learn about different cultures.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, England, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Laos, Myanmar, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Turkey, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, India, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Iris’s full profile.