Iris VB's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Iris’s full profile.


  • 34 references 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, Georgian, German, Polish, Russian
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Postgraduate
  • Central and East European, Russian & Eurasian studies
  • From Almere, Flevoland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello hello 🙏 My name is Iris and I am 25 years old. I was born and raised in the Netherlands in a Dutch-Polish family. I grew up in modern and multicultural city called Almere, which is about 5 (!) meters under sea level. I completed a BA in International Studies while living in the political centre the Netherlands: The Hague. As part of my bachelor's, I spent one semester abroad in Moscow. After graduating, I moved to Wrocław for a year to reconnect to my Polish roots. I recently finished my master's degree which first allowed me to study in Tartu, Glasgow and Tbilisi. Now I'm based in Brussels for work.

Generally I'm always open for a conversation/discussion and I'm really interested in different cultures/other points of view. I always want to broaden my horizon and I'm always up for new challenges!!! Not afraid for the unknown 🌎🙌

PS I would like to practice my German, Polish and Russian; so if anyone is in for a language exchange, let me know

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on CS because the platform enables me to meet all kinds of different people and... learn from them!!! Human interaction is simply the most beautiful thing in the world 💫


I really enjoy going to museums (especially contemporary art), concerts (I appreciate all kinds of music but I'm particularly fond of electronic/disco/funk) and independent movie theatres. I am passionate about traveling and discovering new places while learning from the diversity of humankind along the way! Lately I am experimenting a lot with analogue photography. I am very much into hitchhiking and the philosophy behind it. I love finding peace in nature and the 'simpler' things of life. Also, I am a big fan of hiking, although I'm from the flattest country of Europe... 😢

  • arts
  • street art
  • live music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • art history
  • international relations
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • travel
  • biking
  • feminism
  • independent cinema

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Constantly building/creating a new home while moving around :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share stories of my experiences in life, lots of laughter, good energy, a listening ear, interesting discussions, adventures, spontaneously created meals and, hopefully, new insights 😊

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Estonia, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Estonia, Georgia, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Scotland

Join Couchsurfing to see Iris’s full profile.

My Groups