Alexander Hunt's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Hindi, Italian, Russian, Spanish; learning German, Hungarian
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Former importer of art and antiques to the United States ...
  • Bachelor's degrees in French, European Studies, Piano Per...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To visit every country before I die and meet with locals along the way. Eventually, I hope to become a US Diplomat. Also, I have a list of a dozen more languages I'd like to learn.

ABOUT ME

I worked with my family as an importer of French antiques and art (www.frenchmetro.com) for five years after working for the US Department of State in Washington, DC. My passions are classical music/piano, traveling, learning foreign languages, diplomacy, and getting to know foreign cultures. I'm also a foodie and a pretty serious cook, so I would be delighted to cook dinner during my stay with you or your stay with me.

I get along really well with just about anyone as I am really flexible; and I am pretty extroverted so I really enjoy good conversation although I respect the privacy of others. I do not smoke and don'€™t do recreational drugs at all. I do however enjoy a drink or two in the evenings. I'm, of course, happy to provide my own food while staying with a host and expect the same from guests. And finally, I will always show respect for the people I'm staying with, their home, and their personal belongings. For me the purpose of traveling is not to party (or to cause havoc) but is rather more cultural. I have lived in several different countries and have visited almost forty countries, almost always staying with hosts (friends, family, strangers, etc...). I think staying with locals is the best way to get to know a foreign culture.

PHILOSOPHY

Be open minded and you will let happiness in.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted more than a dozen guests in my home, but only once through the couchsurfing website.

Interests

I love travel and foreign languages. I could talk about foreign cultures and grammars for hours. I enjoy art museums and history. I love to eat new foods. There is NOTHING I won't try once. I also enjoy being in nature. My home state is nicknamed the Natural State, so it is full of mountains, rivers, caves, waterfalls, and wild animals. I love to have conversations about politics, the environment, technology, current events, and cultural differences. Basically, I try to solve the world's problems over a glass of wine.

I also have a passion for both diplomacy and interior design.

  • animals
  • arts
  • culture
  • design
  • interior design
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • partying
  • drinking
  • politics
  • technology
  • traveling
  • music
  • classical music
  • piano
  • history
  • languages
  • science
  • rivers
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC: I love all kinds of music. I listen to everything from Opera to Funk, Jazz to Blues, Folk to World Music. I actually collect music from around the world. During my travels, I like to get a few tracks of the "best" music from the country I'm visiting.

MOVIES: I like foreign films and documentaries, but I also watch Hollywood stuff.

BOOKS: My favorites are foreign language grammar books and Lonely Planet travel guides, but I also enjoy reading novels and classic literature.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've visited more than fifty countries and have lived in seven different countries. During my travels, I have climbed inside a volcano, been hypnotized by gypsies, lived with a Russian mafia family, helped build an orphanage in Honduras, and hung out with a bunch of penguins in Chile.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know a lot about music theory, grammar, upholstery, and classical music. I don't know much about science. I still want to learn more about different languages and politics.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Since one of my passions is cooking (and eating), I would love to prepare a meal to share with my hosts. Or if use of the kitchen is an issue, I would love to treat my hosts to a dinner out on the town!

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Honduras, Hungary, India, Israel, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Georgia, Hungary, India, Italy, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexander’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups