Logo orange

Isobel Gee

West Perth, Western Australia, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

0% response rate · Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Isobel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 30 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Packing my backpack
  • BA Film & Photomedia, Travel
  • From Perth, Western Australia, Australia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

Hey, I'm Izzy. I spent my first 20 years growing up in Perth, Australia, have relocated a few times, and until recently was continuing to grow up in Vancouver, BC.

I took to the road again in February, traveling with my life packed into a friends Subaru. We visited as many national parks as possible, our journey eventually taking us through 18 states in the US.

As of the end of 2014, I'm back in Perth. I might be here for awhile, maybe not, idk we'll see..

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I believe connecting with other human beings is powerful, it’s how we grow, I appreciate outside perspective.

I've surfed/hosted/carpooled/hitched rides/ given rides/house sat around Europe, South America, Canada and the USA. Have met so many kind, interesting and generous people.

*PSA*

In aug-sept 2015 I'll be back in the US, with plans to visit nyc, chicago, detroit, durham, new orleans and austin. I'll be sending out requests leading up to my departure, but if you know someone or you yourself are reading this and able to help me out with a place to stay or advice/suggestions for my trip, please hit me up.

Interests

Varied and always expanding. I hope to never become uninterested in ideas new to me. As I travel and talk to more people, I'm discovering so many cool things about how we live and design our lives.

I have a background in film studies and photography. I enjoy the process of creating art, narrative & non-fiction film, philosophy, politics, design, people and the human condition, finding poetry in unexpected places, landscapes, location identity, lifestyle design, road trips, collecting stuff & curating stuff, gettingtfo of my hometown and traveling as often as possible. Would like to think I'll find somewhere I want to settle for awhile, but right now I'm okay with moving around and not being tethered to any one place.

Music, Movies & Books

Everything here goodreads.com/user/show/27845265-izzy and here last.fm/user/superweeds and I like movies spanning from slow burn, existential enquiries, through to the latest Mad Max.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I fell off my bike pretty badly while I was camping out at McKinney Falls just outside of atx. The park ranger was a tiny, energetic lady from Minnesota who scooped me up and proceeded to drive me places over the next two days in her giant white pick up truck while we discussed life and the nature of things, parting ways after breakfast tacos at Maria's on S Lamar when the ordeal was over. THIS GOES OUT TO YOU MARY!

Teach, Learn, Share

I recently learned the rudiments to setting up a simple diy screen printing rig at home on a budget, so I could show you how to get one set up for yourself.

I also do video and photography in both hobby and professional capacities, I could do my best to help out with any camera issues or answer related questions.

Also if you have any pets, I'm cool with being their bff while I'm in town.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, Peru, Singapore, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Canada, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Isobel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile