Jaime Brockway's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 96% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jaime’s full profile.


  • 14 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • Editor, Writer
  • Sociology, English (creative writing)
  • From United States
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! I'm Jaime (Jay-mee).

I'm a freelance editor and writer who loves to travel. Meeting new people, learning new languages, exploring new places, and being spontaneous makes life 1000x better.

From September 2018 to August 2020, I backpacked from Mexico through Central America and South America while working remotely, and I Couchsurfed in several of those countries. Now that I'm in Denver, I'm ready to provide the same kindness to travelers passing through.

Hablo español porque practiqué muchisimo durante mi viaje de dos años, pero no hablo perfectamente, y me encantaría charlar contigo!

Before I traveled in Latin America, I lived in Brooklyn, NY, for 4 years. Before that I lived in Washington, D.C., and before that I lived in Baltimore, where I went to college.


Send me a message if you're looking for a safe, comfortable place to stay for a couple days. When you send me a message, please tell me a little about yourself and your travel plans, and include acknowledgement that you have read my house rules at the bottom of the My Home page.

Accepting of all people. LGBTQ+ friendly.

I do not have a car, so I can't pick you up from the airport. But I can meet you at the train station if you like, and we can take the bus together.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing has enabled me to befriend locals in places where there aren't a lot of tourists, stay in places that are more authentic, and make friends with people whom I never would have met otherwise. It's magic!


  • books
  • beer
  • hiking
  • adventure
  • biking
  • night walks
  • learning language
  • coffee shops
  • dancing salsa
  • cooking and eating

Music, Movies, and Books

"Before Sunrise" is my favorite movie, and I like the whole trilogy—will watch any movie directed by Richard Linklater

"Goodnight, Mr. Tom"
"Last Days of Summer"
"A Tree Grows in Brooklyn"
The Neapolitan Novels
All books by James Herriot
All books by Amor Towles
"Writers & Lovers" and "Euphoria" by Lily King
"An Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life"

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

For my 29th birthday, I went to Canada on my own. The country was celebrating its 150th birthday and granted free access to its national parks, so I flew to Calgary, rented a car, and drove, hiked and swam through Banff and Jasper national parks, staying in wilderness hostels along the way. One day, I pulled over on the side of the single highway connecting the two parks because I heard there was under-the-radar cliff jumping. Just a short walk off the road, I found a bunch of local people jumping off cliffs ranging in height from 5 to 80 ft into the deep glacial lake. The highest I jumped was 30 feet, and it was exhilarating.

Teach, Learn, Share

I’m a freelance editor and am happy to talk about what that is like. Although I am not very religious, I grew up with a Catholic father and Jewish mother and was raised Jewish and can talk about Bat Mitzvahs and other Jewish customs. Although I am not fluent, I speak Spanish pretty well, and we can practice. I'm teaching myself guitar and will gladly share what I've learned thus far.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cooking, company for adventure and exploring, conversations of life and travel and work or whatever topic... I love talking about travel and alternative lifestyles.

I'm still new to Denver, but I can show you what I know! I don't have a car, so we will either travel by foot, by bicycle, or by public transportation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, France, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Scotland, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jaime’s full profile.

My Groups