Jake Orpheus's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 84% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jake’s full profile.

Overview

  • 51 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hindi; learning Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Mariner & QHSE Trainer
  • Bachelor of Engineering
  • From Kochi, Kerala, India
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

Always loved to travel and immerse in local culture. So I chose sailing as a profession to create opportunity for travel more. Though I did manage to visit about 60 countries across 5 continents something was lacking! That is when I discovered Couchsurfing 7 years ago and fell in love with it ever since 😊

The most important part of a journey is the opportunity that one gets to meet people from other cultures and the never ending learning experience!
I also enjoy to explore and try out food and understand architecture. So fellow couch surfers, Earth is our home and let us celebrate life together! ❤️

PHILOSOPHY

Better late than never!

Earth is our home. Celebrate life!
Religion: Humanity
Nationality: Planet Earth :)

Update 2022

Finally in the endemic stage, going to travel after almost 3years. This time it would UK, Bosnia, Montenegro and Serbia!

Update 2023

Upcoming visits to USA, Colombia, Mexico

Feel free to read my references or often they are like stories 😊

Follow my Travel Blog on:

https://jakeorpheus.wordpress.com

Instagram: JakeOrpheus

Cheers!! Salud!!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

CS has provided me the golden opportunity to connect with marvellous human beings from across the planet who possess similar interests regards to travel & culture and have proven me the lesson of unity on the basis of humanity despite our cultural and racial differences!!

Happy and fortune to have travelled to 60 countries so far though some of them were only 2 day pit stops while I used to work on big cargo ships 🚢 while others were longer stays working and volunteering too!!

Love to meet new people whenever possible, learn their culture, relish the cuisine and spend some quality time together! ❤ I identify myself as Indian origin but pretty much live the life of hopping expat and digital nomad most of the time lately (thanks to pandemic xD 😅)

As of 2022, finally after pandemic I'm travelling again and can't wait to have more of those wonderful experiences. Please feel free to read my reviews 😇

Interests

Music.
Architecture.
Culture exchange.
languages.
Drives.

  • culture
  • architecture
  • dining
  • beer
  • drinking
  • pub crawls
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • sailing
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
Rock and Jazz
Western classical
Instrumental Piano

Books:
Readers digest
Midnight watch (David Dyer)
Ghost train to the Easter star (Paul Theroux)
Sinking of the INS Khukri (Ian Cardoza)

Movies:
Babam ve Oglum (Turkish)
Ali's wedding (Iraqi-English)
The Aeroplane
The Dictator

Theres a lot more obviously but just listing a few out of the box 📦 ones!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1. Flew an aircraft above Kochi, the queen of Arabian sea!
2. Sailed across the Pacific & Atlantic
3. Camped for 6 days on a beach with just one pair of clothes
4. Witnessing the most beautiful sunsets in South coast of Turkey
5. Hitchhiking in Serbia and ending up in a private birthday party on the mountain in Tara
6. Hitchhiked in a police car in Miami
7. Road trip in a cute rest Fiat 500 across Italy for 10 days with CS friend!

What I Can Share with Hosts

1. Language exchange (let's practice and exchange whatever languages we know)

2. Indian tea 🍵 (can prepare you some aromatic tea)

3. Introduce you to Ayurveda (ancient holistic treatment) especially for back & shoulder aches

4. Play music 🎶together

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, China, Colombia, Ethiopia, Germany, Hong Kong, Kenya, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Mozambique, Nepal, Netherlands, Panama, Qatar, Serbia, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Latvia, Lithuania, Serbia, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Jake’s full profile.

My Groups