Jake Schmetterer's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jake’s full profile.

Overview

  • 27 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Learning Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Data Analyst/Database Manager
  • Degree in Environmental Geology from Colorado State Unive...
  • From Deerfield, IL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

COVID Update: Ready to start hosting fully vaccinated travelers 😊

Hello! I have been a Couchsurfer since April 2017 and an active part of the Denver Couchsurfing Community since November 2017!

Currently I am the organizer for the Weekly Denver Couchsurfing Meetups. If you are looking to meet some great people in the Denver area I recommend you come join us! It has been a great experience for me to organize a meetup, and I'm always open to new ideas of ways to change things up or make the meetups more inclusive.

I live in the beautiful Cap Hill neighborhood, close to a lot of great places like City O' City, the Capitol Building, City Park, Pablo's Coffee, Cheesman Park and many great museums.

I like to make sure that surfers are reading my profile, so please let me know where your favorite place in the world is when you are sending me a request. Mine is Great Sand Dunes National Park!

My home is a safe and welcoming space for LGBTIQA+ individuals! I use him/him/his pronouns

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to meet new people, learn about other cultures and explore new places. I think that it's important to connect with locals when traveling, it's something I always make sure to try and do. I love being able to travel the world and still feel like I am a part of the warm and welcoming community that is Couchsurfing.

Interests

I love volunteering! Spent a year doing AmeriCorps NCCC where I was constantly involved with volunteer and service projects. Hiking, camping, travel blogging and eating new foods are also big passions of mine!

  • lgbt rights
  • beer
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • bouldering
  • hiking
  • camping
  • snowshoeing
  • social justice
  • urban exploring
  • lingustics

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite Bands: The Format, Mac DeMarco, PUP, Vampire Weekend, Fiona Apple, First Aid Kit, Iris Dement, Thao & The Get Down Stay Down

Favorite Movies: Boyhood, Tracks, Marriage Story, Burning

Favorite Author: David Sedaris

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I traveled Southeast Asia by myself for five months. Ended up in some funny scenarios.... Like living in the back of a kindergarden classroom for a few weeks or vomitting out of the window of a 14 hour local bus in Laos.

I've also done a lot of trail work so I've spent months at a time living in the woods in Colorado.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: I can teach you how to go skyscrapering!

Learn: I want to learn about hidden gems in the cities/communites I am visting.

Share: I have some great travel stories to share, some of which I have written about: https://tracksinthewild.wordpress.com/

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can take you to my climbing gym! Or we can make hummus together!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Laos, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jake’s full profile.

My Groups