Jakub Zahumensky's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jakub’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference
  • Fluent in Czech, English, German, Slovak, Spanish; learning Croatian
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • PhD. student (biophysics)
  • MSc. in biophysics
  • From Prievidza, Trenčín Region, Slovakia
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

I grew up in a small town in Slovakia, spent most of my time outdoors playing football, hockey and basketball or just doing what kids used to do back in the day :). I moved to Prague at the age of 18 to study physics and later specialized in biophysics. As a scientist, I have some options to travel, but it isn't nearly enough. This year, I am supposed to finish my PhD. and it will be the end of my student years, boo-hoo ;).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am couchsurfing beacause the best way to know a country is to know its people, find out what they normally do, eat and drink. It helps me to blend in and experience the country/city from the point of view of an insider, so to speak. Another great thing is that local people know a lot of interesting places that don't get mentioned in travel guides. Also, it's a great way to meet like-minded people and of course, save some money while travelling.

note: In the past, I was couchsurfing with my girlfriend at the time and we had a "couple" profile. You can find some references there: www.couchsurfing.com/people/peta_kubik

Interests

I love travelling, good food, ice-cream and drink, martial arts and toys, especially kendama, which is a traditional japanese toy :). It helps you develop focus, determination and creativity while also being a great way to meet people from all around the globe. I also like drawing, cooking, reading books, listening to music and doing sports.

  • arts
  • books
  • dining
  • cooking
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • drawing
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • sports
  • basketball
  • martial arts
  • soccer
  • hockey
  • physics
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I like rap, blues, jazz, indie-rock, reggae, but also swing, electronic chill-out music, country, you name it ;)
My most favorite writers are Jack London, Chuck Palahniuk, Robert L. Stevenson, Lewis Carol and Laurie Lee. I also think that Markus Zusak will soon join the list. I love all the "boys/kids" books like Treasure Island, The Jungle Books, Alice in Wonderland, White Fang etc etc. I also think they are MUCH more than "children's books".
I like movies (and books as well) with a twist and weird characters, as they provide you with a unique view into the psyche of people.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've seen whales up close! From a zodiac and also from the shore, where nobody was around for miles, just the whales, the fjord and me. It was absolutely amazing and unforgettable.
I climbed the Diamond Hill in Connemara (Ireland) and then watched the Sun go down over the Atlantic.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Lots of laughs and good company. I can cook a big meal to share with everyone and teach how to play kendama.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Ireland, Slovakia

Join Couchsurfing to see Jakub’s full profile.