Logo orange

Irmantas 小博 Bortnikas

Shanghai, Shanghai Municipality, China

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Irmantas 小博's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 26 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Lithuanian; learning Chinese, Russian, Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Master's student [Chinese Economics]
  • Bachelor in International Business;
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Look for a purpose in my life...

ABOUT ME

Open your mind and the world will open itself for you ;) By following this rule I happened to be in China now.

During the last year this is my 4th country that I live in. After I graduated from university I went to work to the bank at my home country in Lithuania. Working there for I while I understood that I am too young to settle down and too inexperienced/uneducated to do big things. Therefore, I decided to search for myself and especially what I want to do/work in life.

So, I quit the job at the bank (was very happy), then went to Denmark to work for Greenpeace, after I went to Sweden to study Master program in Chinese economics and now I am in China striving for success.

Success? Em... I know it's very abstract. I rather search for a way, a way of living, way of career, way of loving, way of being a friend, way of being a stranger and many more ways that I even don't realize they exist. I'm also looking for what and where is the balance. I'm very curious about it. Hence, I'm interested in everything that is around me, cause I can't miss anything. We live only once!

Couch surfing is a part of my journey, helping me to find/have a new family of like-minded individuals, share my stories, learn theirs or just spend a fun time together.

------------------------------------------------------- Some NOTES for the SURFERS:

*Everyone is welcome to stay at my place at any time ^_^ *I havo no rules for staying at my places and prefer leaving everything to feeling of a common sense :) *I am flexible during the day, thus I can be available to spend some time together. *I am busy in the evenings because I work and am usually practicing Capoeira - kindly invite my hosts to join a capoeira practice with me. *I am not a party person, so I won't be able to join or suggest a nightclub/bar, however always up for a lunch/dinner together :) *Always up to join any interesting activity togerher :) * When you send me a couch request, write a keyword “MAKULELE” in the beginning - it can likely increase chances of you staying at my place as I will know that you actually looked at my profile :)

PHILOSOPHY

Live as it would be the last day of your life, learn as you would live all your life. _______________________________________________________

Treat others the way how you would like to be treated.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host when I can, not necessarily thorough CS. I've hosted some of the tourists just from the streets. I surf when I' travelling. I like participating in group events, meeting new ppl. and organizing events. I share the idea and the spirit with other ppl.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Had many experiences from hosting to surfing. Also met many friends and had many interactions using CS city groups.

One of the most impressive experiences - a Free Flight with a private Jet around Mallorca island! Yes, that happened to me! Yes, he was my CS HOST!!!

p.s. all CS experiences are equally important I think :)

Interests

I have around 1000 hobbies and interests. I am having a hard time to concentrate or focus on one, because I keep finding new and interesting things. Some things that I enjoy are:

Travelling, cultures, books, movies, rock-climbing, football, art, music, history, economics, sociology, politics, learning instruments, swimming, surfing, dancing Brasilian Capoeira, learning new languages, movies, people, sustainability concept...

Music, Movies & Books

Books - I love classical literature, but I also enjoy inspirational literature.

Videos - I watch Ted.com to get interesting, insightful and inspiring ideas.

Movies - I grew up with Hollywood action movies and movie stars such as Arnold Schwarzenegger, Jean Claude Van Dame Sylvester Stallone.

Now my favorite director is Stanley Kubrick. I need more time to figure out who are the other good ones.

I love independent or non-commercial movies. I love European cinema, especially Scandinavian and Balkan.

Some I like that I can remember at the moment:

- The Pursuit of Happiness - Catch me if you can - Being John Malkovich - Aviator - Vanilla Sky - Truman Show - Beautiful Mind - Dead Poets Society - Mr. Nobody - Life is Beautiful - Train De Vie - White cat Black Cat - The Pianist - Barry Lindon - Clockwork orange - Full Metal Jacket ...................

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Dumpster-dived for food to support my living for 6months during my study period.

Hitchhiked and slept on the beaches with no camping equipment for about one month in Greece.

Lived in an Arabic Ghetto in Denmark.

Slept on the rocks alone for one night near the lake next to an Albanian-Macedonian border.

Slept in a Manhattan Bus Terminal for 1 night during my first day in USA when I was 20.

Parachute jump from a plane Bungee Jump.

Went to Paris once with basically no money for 1 week, but with one phone number that saved my ass.

Going to live to an another country without having any clue what to do and hot to survive there.

Organized a concert for my b-day party.

Participated in a naked Sushi party organized by a one CS'er.

Teach, Learn, Share

Sharing creates an additional value for everyone. This idea rocks! I love learning and studying. This is one of my core values. But I also love teaching, I enjoy if I can teach or share some knowledge or experience with others. I think teaching and sharing it is also a way to grow spiritually.

Countries I've Visited

Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Latvia, Macedonia, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

China, Denmark, Greece, Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Irmantas 小博's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile