Jan Berdajs's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.


  • 22 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Slovene; learning German, Serbo-Croatian
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Senior Software Developer
  • BSc. (University)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a guy of hobbies. At the moment my favorites are dancing and windsurfing. I never had a full time job in my life, I used to be a software developer but nowadays I do consulting for cryptocurrencies. I am laid back and love to hang out and chat with new people. Even though I have an IT background I am quite extraverted and outgoing. I have a good sense of humor and I'd like to say I'm pretty good company and a good guest as well as host.

I really love to
- meet interesting new people
- share new experiences with them
- talk about life over a cold beer
- organize a party at home (drink, dance, karaoke...)
- go out and have some fun

I prefer people who are talkative and easy-going, who have an opinion on life and are not afraid to share it, who like to do and feel, who like to analyze, and who like to think about the world and life.

Wanted to write this as I had many flakes with people who were new on Couchsurfing. I have no problem hosting people without references, but due to these past experiences - please - make sure you decide if you want to couchsurf or not for sure before sending a request. If I accept a request I will stick to it and I expect the same from the guest (in normal circumstances of course). It means I will decline other people for this period and set aside time to wait for you. If you are left without internet or something, do not panic and just get in touch. I always leave my number, and SMS cost is not that high also. If my plans change and I cannot host you I will 100% let you know, so do not worry about this. Please keep this in mind when sending a request.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To hang out with positive fun people!

Some things I like from guests when I am hosting:
- share something interesting with me about your country or yourself
- cook or teach me to cook some easy and good local dish
- if you like to go out partying and dancing it is a huge plus :)

What I don't like:
- very low energy
- no interest to try something new

When I am hosting I usually like to hang out with guests in the evening. During the day I am usually taking care of my stuff (work, cleaning, cooking etc). Of course I am happy to provide some personal tips of what to do during the day.

In case you are coming only for one night, please come with energy! I prefer for you not to come really tired from the road and just go to sleep. After all, it is not a hostel, and the point is that we have some fun together too, right? ;)

Also a word of caution: In one day, it is true you can probably see Ljubljana. But to really experience it you will need more than one day. Many of my guests were sad that they didn't have more time here, if they came only for one day. Also Ljubljana is nowadays a very lively city and during the day, all sort of things are going on in the city (and almost all of them are free!)


- people, social dynamics, psychology
- dancing (kizomba, bachata, west coast swing)
- windsurfing
- badminton
- sailing
- guitar
- skiing
- good food and healthy nutrition
- computer science, obviously (my work)

  • culture
  • dancing
  • dining
  • beer
  • partying
  • drinking
  • guitar
  • karaoke
  • windsurfing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • badminton
  • computer science
  • psychology
  • science
  • software

Music, Movies, and Books

For music, I do enjoy almost all types of music. I am not particularly fond of metal. I particularly enjoy kizomba, blues and pop, due to my dancing.

For movies I prefer such where I can turn of my mind a bit and just enjoy it, e.g. action and comedy. I also like superhero stuff, like the X-Men and Avengers movies. For series my favorites are: Prison Break, Game of Thrones, Heroes, Seinfeld, Stargate SG-1...

Books I do not read that much, but I recently began to read more. I like literature that allows me to learn about life and take some deeper meaning from it. I am also planning to read some of the more well-known books, as I would like to become well-read.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I changed a negative aspect of my personality. For more you will have to ask :)

Teach, Learn, Share

As I said I am really interested in life-related topics. I would like to learn about your culture and your view on the world, and share mine.
I am happy to provide some biased information about the city, but I might not be able to always accompany you on this journey :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

My personal views, culture of Slovenia and balkan area, and good company to go out with, either to relax or to go partying.
Also a cold beer and good chat :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Egypt, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Slovenia

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.