Janan Dean's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Janan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 41 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Freelance writer
  • Marketing and Social Work
  • From London, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I have been a Couchsurfing enthusiast for over 10 years and met some of my dearest friends through surfing couches or attending local CS meetups. I spent 2019 as a digital nomad, travelling Asia and Australia with my husband while working remotely. With the Covid-19 situation on-going, I am so grateful that we were able to visit many places on our bucket list and ultimately return to Canada when the situation intensified.

I am not currently monitoring this account or hosting couchsurfers due to the Covid-19 situation.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It taught me that people are kind, trustworthy, and generous. I have been in this community for over 10 years and it changed my life.

The first time I considered couchsurfing was during a trip to New Zealand in August 2007. I was too scared to do it because I was worried about safety issues as a solo female traveler, but I still created a profile and that's how I found out about the local meetups. The first time I actually couchsurfed was in Scotland in September 2008. It was simply awesome. Even though I was nervous at first, everyone was so welcoming. I met a lot of amazing people and I've never looked back since.

Surfed with...
Scotland - Ellen in Edinburgh; Ben and Daniel in St. Andrews; Laura in Dundee; Ela in Aberdeen
Morocco - Hatim and Rachel in Fez; Rachid in Tighassaline; Cindo in Tangiers; and found awesome travel buddies on the Marrakesh CS forum, Marieanne and Brian
Sweden - Mani in Gothenburg
Canada - Liane in Bathurst, New Brunswick; Clement in Ottawa; Erin in Simcoe, Ontario; Poushali in Vancouver
Spain - Bel in Malaga

Hosted...
in Toronto - Florence from Paris; Eunkyung from Seoul; Amelie and friends from Montreal
in Edinburgh - James from the Lake District; Rodrigo from Bristol; Alan from USA/Germany; Ana from Porto, Portugal; Marcie and Dave from London, Ontario; Steph from Toronto; Juliet from New Zealand

Interests

I love to cook and try new ingredients and kitchen gadgets. Also, I like traditional Canadian hobbies - camping and hiking in the summer and skiing, snowboarding, and snowshoeing in the winter.

  • cooking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowshoeing
  • road trips

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite artist to see live is Loreena McKennitt, a Canadian Celtic folk artist. London also has an amazing free global music festival every July called Sunfest. The calibre and variety of musicians are world-class and it is my favourite weekend of the year.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A road trip around the deserted north coast of Scotland with amazing ladies I met working at a hostel in Inverness. The landscapes were phenomenal, but it was the company that made it so memorable.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to discuss a lot of different topics, from research to pop culture to cooking.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I try to find things to bring or share that fit each host by carefully reading profiles.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Curaçao, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, Scotland

Old School Badges

  • 7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Janan’s full profile.

My Groups