Jan Fiala's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 36 references 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English, German, Slovak; learning Russian
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Project Manager in Siemens
  • Two Master´s degrees
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello everyone! 👋 My name is Jan, traveler, based in Brno, CZE, working and enjoying life to the fullest :)

I am open-minded, easy-going and all-the-time smilling person with love for meeting new people, especially from different cultures and with interesting stories. As you can see from "visited countries", I do love travelling, trying new things, sharing travel and life experience and looking for new challenges in my life, ´cause we live just once and we are young only once, too!

Among others I love being in the nature (hiking, walks, camping), sports (football, florball, ice-skating, tennis, hiking, ferrats, swimming, beach-volleyball, cycling), travelling and meeting new people from all around the world 🌍. I also like going to the theathre and concerts of classical music. Im doing that atually often as I love that atmosphere and nice dress-code, some beatiful music or story.

Besides, I've been organizing Language exchange events in Brno since 2018. It's for everyone, who share international spirit and passion, wants to meet new people/have fun and to learn/practice languages.

Maybe something interesting about me: I was studying in South Korea 🇰🇷 and then travelling 30 days alone across 7 Asian countries (with only 7kg backpack).
Working in BMW HQ 🚗 and Henkel HQ was also challenges for me! But it gave me so much experience and personal development.

As covid hit the world, I decided to fulfill my dream and started to learn, how to play a piano. I bought a keyboard, basic note sheets for kids and just started all by myself....

If you do want to use "couch" at my place, send me a request with a password: "traveling is life".

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am looking for oppurtunity to connect discovering new places with meeting interesting people and listen to their stories. CS is not only a possibility to be accommodated for free, but it´s mainly a great opportunity to get in touch with locals and get useful information about certain destination and hidden spots. I mean, this is so nice! I was travelling in Asia and I met so many kind and helpful people. I would not have visited some hidden places if I had not known the locals!

Interests

I could not live without sports, mainly team sports. As I have been travelling I found also love in learning languages, discovering cultures and of course meeting new people. Another huge hobby is culture (theater, opera, concerts of clasical music, exhibitions, art).
As for me, everything depends on the people I'm surrounded by. Healthy and friendly environment (both personal and work) have had really influence on me. And as I say, life is just as good as you let it be!

  • culture
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • sports
  • languages
  • self-development
  • mental health
  • playing piano
  • entertainment
  • discovering the world
  • space science
  • automotive industry

Music, Movies, and Books

I am not a big fan of books. But it will change one day! On the other hand, I love watching almost all kind of movies. But need to mention, horor is not my cup of tea. I hope one day I will change my mind and will start reading! I know it´s quite odd to say: "I dont have time for books" and I dont like myself for that...so really, I hope, that one day it will change...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelled 30 days across 7 countries in SE Asia with 7kg backpack, alone. It has been my biggest challenge so far...I started in Seoul (I studied in Korea for 6 months), then Tokyo - Taipei - Borneo (Kota Kinabalu, Brunei), Kuala Lumpur - Jakarta - Singapore - Bangkok....Crazy experience, memories forever!
And it was sooo cool just because of the people I´ve met (both travellers and locals).

Teach, Learn, Share

I can surely share experiences from my journeys & studying abroad and working for world-known companies, positive emotions and mind-set. I also took part in three European Youth Projects, which was indeed amazing experience! I believe, that every person has something to offer!
Moreover, we can practise languages and I am always happy to teach someone few czech words (Czech language is really damn hard)...So, challenge accepted? :D

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share a lot of things besides my couch. My travel experiences are rich and Im sure you would get to know something new! I am open-minded and easy-going guy, so we can talk about variety of topics. Nothing is tabu :) We can talk about life, politics, global issues, your favourite food or emberrasing moments:D By the way, I can serve czech home-made wine!

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, China, Croatia, England, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Moldova, Morocco, Netherlands, Northern Mariana Islands, Poland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Germany, South Korea, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.