Jan Roeland's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 93% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.


  • 73 references 65 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English
  • 50, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Information manager
  • Business Administration at the University of Groningen
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi there, nice to meet you! Quick intro: proud inhabitant of Groningen, always up for meeting new people and cultures, information manager by day, many interests like diving, climbing, nice meals, good wines, challenging conversations, active surf and host visits. I do not want to commit too far into the future so last minute surfers are especially welcome! If you're keen on surfing, I'd appreciate it if you'd give my profile a read. :-)

To help you get to know me better, allow me to share some facts and figures about myself and shed light on what keeps me buzzing in my daily life. For more insights, I invite you to check out the reference section.
I am living in the beautiful city of Groningen, the fifth biggest city in the Netherlands situated in the North of the country. Groningen is a real Student City with over 30% of the 233k inhabitants as students. I originally came to Groningen to study management science and I have never left this city since. In my professional life, I am an information manager. My role revolves around facilitating a seamless integration between information technology (IT) and businesses/organizations. Over the past years, I have been involved in a diverse range of projects across the Netherlands, assuming various roles, all centered around information management. Currently, I am working for an organization in the social domain making sure they have the best IT. My professional interests are best described by words like change, challenges, culture, people, problems, and technology. I have an inherent curiosity and a drive for constant self-improvement. As a result, education plays a significant role in my life, as I strive to expand my knowledge and skills continually.
Now, we've covered the formal side of me. Let's continue with the more casual aspects of my life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I had my first Couchsurfing experience over fifteen years ago, and since then, I've had the pleasure of hosting many guests while occasionally enjoying surfing experiences myself. The best thing is that you meet very interesting people, learn new things, and experience different countries and cultures (even when you are ‘only’ hosting!). I love to interact, show people my city and surroundings, and to engage in interesting conversations about life, the universe, and everything. Sharing a glass of wine near a campfire, having a bite at a restaurant or café, or performing some more challenging activities like climbing, diving, swimming… all nice.

To Surfers: I like to spend time with my guests (if my schedule permits it). Sometimes, I am too busy but for 'hardcore' couchsurfers who need a pitstop in my city, I usually can find space. As I like to be able to change my private schedule, I prefer last-minute surfers. So feel free to ask me even an hour in advance. It might sound a bit blunt but for all Couchsurfing newbies: this community is not www,airbnb-for-free,com. If you want to surf, please introduce yourself and your friend(s) by having a decent profile and / or by telling me something about yourself in your request. Before sending a request, please read “My Home” first.

To Hosts: When you let me surf your couch, I would be delighted to get to know you and your city / surroundings. I am not that demanding and can sleep almost anywhere. I like to hang out but can also manage myself and find my way downtown or in the area for the time that you’re occupied (perhaps a little guidance to get started would be appreciated;)). So, just let me know what the possibilities are.


I have a wide range of interests and enjoy exploring new experiences. To highlight a few specific interests, I enjoy scuba diving (I'm an instructor), climbing, information technology, AI, cooking, watching movies, and engaging in stimulating conversations, at home, in a restaurant or in a bar. I try to stay healthy and work out. Exploring the area, wandering through museums (any kind), having a walk through rough nature, a historical or very modern city: all cool and inspiring!
Furthermore, I watch the Youtube channels like Veritasium, BOOS, Atlas Pro, The Science Asylum, Be Smart, Corridor Crew, NOS op 3, Thoughty2, Debunked, Kurzgesagt, and PBS Space Time on a daily basis. I am very interested in psychology, in how our brains and the rest of our body work (initially wanted to study medicine), in quantum mechanics, biology, history, so basically science stuff.

  • culture
  • photography
  • dining
  • wine
  • beer
  • working out
  • movies
  • music
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • hockey
  • paragliding
  • swimming
  • freelancing
  • friends
  • couchsurfing
  • family
  • indoor climbing
  • wushu
  • information management
  • couch hosting

Music, Movies, and Books

While books haven't been my primary focus (after devouring thousands of pages of literature and research during my studies), I enjoy music and movies a lot.
Music: I enjoy a wide range of genres. Netflix: Squid Game, Suits, Rurouni Kenshin, Our Planet, The Witcher, Once Upon a Time, Meteor Garden, The Umbrella Academy, and Explained. In terms of movies, I have a soft spot for action-packed blockbusters with impressive special effects and science fiction elements, but I also appreciate a diverse selection. Some examples: The Dark Knight, Pulp Fiction, Billy Elliot, The Shawshank Redemption, Leon, Baby Driver, the John Wick series, Reservoir Dogs, Empire of the Sun, Perfume, Kill Bill (Volumes I and II), Lord of the Rings (Trilogy), Star Wars (Saga), Star Trek (Series), Gladiator, Annie, Harry Potter, and of course, the Marvel universe.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Diving and snorkeling with sea lions in the Galapagos, exploring New York, Berlin, Barcelona, Amsterdam, visiting the Serengeti, Ngorongoro, Indonesia, seeing cheetahs in the wild, diving, soaring mountains with a paraglider, up-close encounter with Mola Mola, hippos and lions, and visiting Amazon Robotics.

Teach, Learn, Share

“You know, the ancient Egyptians had a beautiful belief about death. When their souls got to the entrance to heaven, the guards asked two questions. Their answers determined whether they were able to enter or not. ‘Have you found joy in your life?’ 'Has your life brought joy to others?’” The Bucket List, 2007. (By the way…you can show that you have read my profile by mentioning the word ‘bucket’ somewhere in your request and tell me one of your unchecked items. I will definitely try to find a place for you then ;))

What I Can Share with Hosts

When it comes to sharing with both hosts and surfers, my aim is to create lasting memories together. At the very least, I can offer stories from my journeys and, naturally, share insights about Groningen and the Netherlands that hopefully pique your interest. I am always in for an engaging discussion about all the topics that matter, about your and my perspectives on the world, physics, movies, dining, countries, Couchsurfing, +…. I enjoy a savoring glass of wine and a delicious dinner so I would be happy to share that experience and perhaps cook for you. I'm not one for lazy holidays, and I'm always eager to contribute and lend a helping hand. If there's anything that needs to be done around the house, I would be more than happy to assist you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Kenya, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.

My Groups