Not Accepting Guests

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, German, Latin, Spanish
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • College Professor
  • B.Mus, M.Mus, M.A. , Ph.D.
  • From Hartford, SD, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

PLEASE NOTE: I'M MOVING SOON (END OF JUNE 2016) TO AUSTRALIA. MY COUCH WILL BE AVAILABLE AGAIN ONCE I GET SETTLED THERE!

CURRENT MISSION

To share experiences, meet new adventurers, and show you around this beautiful part of America.

ABOUT ME

My friends would say, hmm, that I'm an extremely kind guy, adventurous, intelligent, introspective, curious. I take the initiative to shake things up and to experience new things. I'm focused and hard-working when necessary, but can also enjoy the leisurely things in life. I'm a good host and a good cook.
I was a Peace Corps Volunteer in Zunyi, Guizhou, China from 2012-2014. Before PC I lectured at The Catholic University of America and was the Assistant Editor at the International Commission on English in the Liturgy in Washington, DC. In the summer of 2014 I was a TEFL trainer for the new volunteers. After that, I taught in Zunyi for another year at a private school.
I began teaching at St. Norbert College in the fall of 2015, and loved it, but I took a new job in Sydney, Australia at Australian Catholic University and I'll begin there July 2016.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is short, the earth and its creatures are beautiful, change is hard, so let's get to it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am happy to host if you make it to the great North of the US. Door County has lots to offer, and when I get abroad again I will be looking for couches .

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've only surfed a couple of times, and with people I already knew. I've hosted many people, though, in China, and here in Green Bay. I've been surprised how many people wish to stay here--it is indeed beautiful, but not exactly on the well-beaten path!

Interests

Travel to new places, return trips to comfortable places
Being outside, walking, camping, hiking--I always prefer the rural to the urban
Reading new fiction
Meeting new people
Beautiful and functional architecture
Mindful individuals
Sitting on Wreck Beach
Long talks about substantive things
Live music
Good coffee in a quirky coffee shop
Chats with the cheesemonger about what I should get for a particular meal
Cooking something delicious and sharing the results with friends
Good wine
Bourbon
Memorable trysts
Independent art galleries
Being with my family, especially on the South Dakota farm
Writing
I'm a bad story teller, joke teller, and chit chatter, but I like to listen.

Music, Movies, and Books

I read a lot, so it's difficult to name just a few, but my favorites include Willa Cather and Chuck Palahniuk. I guess I have a thing for American pioneer fiction and edgy twisted fiction.

I love watching movies, and not just high-brown film. Nature or science documentaries are a favorite, as is the Starz series Spartacus. I'm at ease with the fact I like blatantly titillating TV. I like sci-fi and graphic novel/comic book adaptations.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiked Tiger Leaping Gorge, Yunnan, China.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you get to Zunyi (the Read Heart of China), try the food!: mutton noodles, sour soup hot pot, sticky rice with yellow beans--actually just get to the "snack street" in the old town and try everything.

I'm not a particularly religious person, but have studied it in depth, so we could talk religion for hours.

Chinese massage: do it.

Visit Green Bay and Door County in the late spring. It's gorgeous. If you like to fish, this is your paradise. Of course, if you have Packers tickets, visit during the football season!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Chat about travel, teach you some Chinese cooking, see that place in your town you haven't been to yet. I'm open. Let me know what's good for you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jason’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups