Logo orange

JASPER VERSPAANDONK

Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland

Accepting Guests

98% response rate · Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see JASPER's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 48 Positive References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Polish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • No occupation listed
  • Master in History
  • From Leiden, netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Update: 20.07 - 04.08 I won't be able to host.

CURRENT MISSION

To see a lot more of Poland and Central / Eastern Europe. Also, I seriously need to improve my Polish.

ABOUT ME

I`m a 30 year old guy from Holland who is living and working in Krakow since February 2011. I decided to move to Krakow for a while after I finished my studies (history) in Leiden, simply because I was longing for a change and I was already impressed by this city. Now almost 4 years have passed and I still love it here.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm on CS for about 4 years by now. I've mainly been hosting actually and I love to show people around in this city which I love so much and in which I am myself a bit of a tourist as well..I hosted quite a few people and used CS while traveling myself only a few times. All my CS experiences were nice, it always worked out pretty well and I met some real cool people who I stay in touch with and love to meet up with again. I was even 'counterhosted' by friends in the US and Iran.

Interests

When the weather is good I just love to wonder around in the old town or Kazimierz, the old Jewish district, meeting up with people, grabbing a coffee or a beer or going to an event. Some weekends I go for a hike in the Tatra mountains.
I really love to watch movies projected on a big wall in my apartment. I'm into photography, love to read a book every now and then and sometimes I force myself into learning Polish. I'm really into good music (who isn't?) and I discovered there's quite some good Polish stuff around. So far, living in Krakow feels like an extended vacation and I work to make this vacation possible. In October I'll probably go back to Uni to do a second Master for two years called "Central and Eastern European Studies".

Music, Movies & Books

I like watching films a lot.. especially some old classics (Film Noir, Hitchcock´s, Fritz lang, Billy Wilder or some French or Italian classics). A lot of Polish movies as well.

Music: I like a lot of music..I think all kinds of music can produce some good stuff that I like.. I listen to a lot of jazz, but I also love some good old soul and funk music. I started to like some Polish bands as well (Raz dwa trzy, Maria Peszek, Brodka, Strachy na Lachy, Nosowska, Mela Koteluk, Marek Grechuta).
Lately I listen to a lot of Iranian music, I absolutely love Googoosh!

The latest novels that I´ve read and really liked: White Teeth - Zadie Smith, Life of Py - Yann Martel, Everything is illuminated - Jonathan Safran Foer, the Return - Victoria Hislop, Poland - James A. Michener; For whom the Bell Tolls - Ernest Hemingway

One Amazing Thing I've Done

- Driving a huge American Pick up truck through the Rocky Mountains in Colorado was quite amazing.
- Traveling in Iran.

Countries I've Visited

Armenia, Belgium, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Northern Ireland, Poland, Scotland, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Poland

Join Couchsurfing to see JASPER's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile