Jasper van Gammeren's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 88% response rate
  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jasper’s full profile.

Overview

  • 136 references 94 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning German, Norwegian, Spanish
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Business analyst in an IT company and Tour guide in Utrecht
  • Master degree in Human Geography
  • From Hoogland, Utrecht, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoying my new life living together with my girlfriend Veronica!

ABOUT ME

I am generally optimistic, positive and curious. I am interested in other people's stories. Travelling is my passion.

PHILOSOPHY

I treat people the way I would like to be treated. I try to be curious in other people and other cultures/countries. I like helping people and do this in my work, but also outside.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am hosting since 2004 and sometimes surfing too. Occasionally I attend CS activities, like monthly meetings, New Years parties or other get togethers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted more than 200 people through Couchsurfing and Hospitalityclub. Almost all of these experiences have been great, meeting wonderful people and having great conversations and meals.

One of the best experiences was the CS New Year's Party in Oslo 2008/2009. 80 people from around Europe gathered in a farm in Oslo and brought food and drinks. The atmosphere was really special.

Interests

Travelling, having dinner, music, cycling, playing board/card games

  • dining
  • cooking
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • geography
  • history
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

I am a great movie fan, with a fascination for zombie movies. But other genres interest me as well, for example historical movies, drama or comedy. Some good recent movies were Boyhood, Interstellar and Wild Tales (Argentina). Older favorites include Drive, the Descendants, Amelie, la vita e bella and Moonrise Kingdom.

My musical interests are very broad. In particular I like to listen to female vocalists :), nineties (dance) music and singer songwriters. Some examples I am enjoying now: Emiliana Torrini, Avici, Vienna Teng, Charles Bradley and Old Man Canyon.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went motor biking around Cambodia and Laos in Southeast Asia. That was one of my best experiences in travelling, the freedom I felt and the people I met were amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show you around Utrecht, Amsterdam, Amersfoort and other cities in Holland. I know quite a lot about Dutch history and geography.

I can teach you Dutch or just Dutch expressions.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook a traditional Dutch meal for you and share my experiences as a guide.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Norway, Thailand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jasper’s full profile.

My Groups