Joel's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 110 references 107 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • University, life, various influential persons
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Be thankful. Once we settle down, I'm determined to host more than I've surfed.

ABOUT ME

***
If you're racist, sexist or not queer-friendly, do not accept or request me (you would like to think that this attitude wouldn't be found on this platform, but it is unfortunately).
***

Meeting new people and hearing their stories is my favourite part of travel and I hope to continue to learn new things and see new places for as long as I am able. The best thing about CS is the opportunity to really learn about a place through genuine interactions with its people.

Eating and learning about local cuisines is one of my favorite things when travelling. I eat and talk about food a LOT.

I'm very easy-going and might even seem a little blasé or selective about sightseeing, but basically I just don't rush around and try to see ten places in a day. For the most part, I enjoy experiencing the regular life of a place through hosts and locals much more anyway.

Out of respect to the disputed regions that I've been lucky enough to visit and to the people I've met there, I'd like to offer my recognition as CS sadly doesn't list them, and they have to have someone else's country on their profile.

Catalan Republic, East Turkestan, Gilgit-Baltistan, Karakalpakstan, Kashmir, Northern Cyprus, Tibet and Zanzibar.

PHILOSOPHY

Treat others as you wish to be treated.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Cooking and cleaning my way around the world for some good conversation, connections and a roof over my head, as well as opening my door for others when I'm home. Excited to host regularly when we're able.

Interests

Trying local cuisines, film, cooking, hiking, contemporary art. When I'm free I'm usually catching up with friends for dinner and drinks, in a gallery, watching a film, going on a roadtrip or travelling.

  • street art
  • contemporary art
  • diy
  • cooking
  • wine
  • gardening
  • thrifting
  • music
  • hiking
  • philosophy
  • psychology
  • sociology
  • volunteering
  • food
  • markets
  • bars
  • film
  • craft beer
  • street food
  • upcycling
  • gin
  • local cuisine
  • public transportation
  • specialty coffee
  • overlanding

Music, Movies, and Books

Independent and foreign films, mostly psychological thrillers and drama. Electronic, hip hop, afrobeats, dance, pop, alternative RnB tunes.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Meeting my fiancé ❤️. Finally getting myself off USA's travel ban list 😝. Volunteering in the Tibetan orphanage in the India. Travelling overland from Shanghai to Georgia and around South America - quite a journey. Taking local buses from Cape Town to Cairo - even more of a journey.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cooking, cleaning, conversation

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, England, Ethiopia, France, French Guiana, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guyana, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Iran, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Montenegro, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Peru, Rwanda, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Joel’s full profile.