Jaydin's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jaydin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 47, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Teacher (esl)
  • bsc (hons) psychology
  • From Phnom Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

(I'm open to meet ups for coffee/talk/day out with interesting, tolerant people)

I drifted around most of my life, then got some money when my mother died in 2007 and tried to do some meaningful thing. I did a six year diploma and degree course with the Open University, and passed upper second in March 2014. Then I volunteered in an NGO in Phnom Pehn for a non-profit. I teach in the afternoon, morning and evening I work on the in-house published books (the only Khmer specific esl language books available). All profits from the school support sustainable livelihood projects and environmental protection in rural areas in Cambodia.

Update 2015: taking a break from the NGO after three full semesters. I have a certificate of appreciation and letter of recommendation from them. I'm returning the the UK on 1st April to visit my Aunt, do a meditation retreat and possibly see about temp working/working the summer now that I have some graduate experience.

Update: Back in Phnom Pehn, doing my fourth semester. Looking to meet up, though I'm really only free Saturdays now.

Update: December 2015, after working for five semesters in Cambodia, I've left and am just completing my teacher training in HCMC. I will be staying here until at least mid-January 2016 to look for work.

February 2015 Finished teacher training. Traveling SEA and possibly the Far East for a few months.

2016 I'll probably be volunteering again in June this year, until then I have a short break to Japan and Korea planned and that's all.

One thing to mention. I don't really like sitting on the floor for health reason. A bed on the floor is OK but I don't really dig low tables. Yes, Japan and Korea might be a bit of a problem, but I'll deal with that when I get there!

Update December 2016. Yep, made it to Japan and Korea. Loved Japan, Korea, soso. I continued volunteering for most of this year but the NGO is becoming a company so I'm kind of winding it down. I'm probably going to be working just Saturdays (if even that) for the next semester. I'm spending my time working on video courses (producing them). I've rented an apartment in Toul Toum Poung near the Russian Market just for December 2016. See pics and description under the tag. Welcome to send a request. I'm a bit busy/self-contained sometimes, but I do beleive in the couchsurfing ethos, so I'll try and be nice! Remember, my place isn't much/I'm not so rich (though you're welcome), I have 'food issues', so don't mind coming out (or not, up to you) but I'll only have a soda. You eat though, no problem. I might snore a bit (though have two rooms). If you send me a message/request, mention your star (zodiac) sign in the first sentence to let me know you've read this. ... Maybe be seeing you then...

2018 After two years full experience I've taken a break from teaching. I just finished studying a PGCert in Applied Linguistics and also volunteered for ten months in a movie theater in Phnom Penh. I'm currently setting up a web design/SEO consultancy business and creating courses on this (and other) subjects, and developing various filmmaking projects.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've always been a bit of a drifter, but generally stay quite alone. Currently, I'm just finishing my third back-to-back semester in the language school and I've really changed. I got used to being around people and enjoying people. I can't stay here forever and so will move on and the couchsurfing idea would support the way I live. Though I'm completely transient and couldn't offer any accommodation at this point, I'm kind of paying it forward with the full time volunteering I'm spending the last of my inheritance on. Also, although I'm older than the usual demographic, I'm used to living communally with other people (teacher accommodation and Buddhist monastery) so I can blend in, don't leave much of a trace around me.

---

Update: Now I've a little couchsurfing experience, and loved it, I'm learning that I can get on with most open-minded people and do enjoy meeting new and different people, so I'll be making an effort to join some events, and am open to meeting for talking, coffee, maybe a day out/event. I'll be in/around Bangkok May 2015 and after that, Phnom Pehn. Contact me if interested.

Interests

Buddhism, meditation, traveling (53 countries), podcasts, internet, cooking.

  • books
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • meditation
  • traveling
  • podcasts
  • buddhist
  • sports
  • teaching
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't really seek anything out. I watch what I come across on youtube, I read whatever books people leave in communal areas.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Basically the three month volunteering I'm currently doing, which is quite amazing considering how quiet I am.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My travel experiences. I'm an experienced teacher now, so could perhaps give language lessons. I'm quite a good listener also, so 'my ear' is another thing. I know a fair bit about the practical side of meditation/Buddhism is you're interested, but I don't go on about it if people aren't (isn't that annoying?). One thing, I don't know anything about sport at all. I don't mind listening if you're passionate about it, but it might be a one-sided conversation!

I'm also a fully qualified English teacher now, and would exchange lessons possibly. Ideally, I'd like to limit the lessons to an hour a day as one on one tuition is quite tiring, but for longer term accommodation, I could possibly assess your language, then we'll choose a book and go through it together.

I'm setting up a web design/SEO consultancy business.

Join Couchsurfing to see Jaydin’s full profile. It’s free!