John Bulcock's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.

Overview

  • 61 references 41 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 43, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • I get to work with university students!
  • M. Ed.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

***Fully vaccinated and boosted as of November 13, 2021***

*Note: Apparently, I'm showing up in searches for hosts in Toronto, Canada. I have no idea why this is happening. I'm in southern Minnesota, US, 8+hours from the closest border crossing, and nowhere near Toronto. Sorry to disappoint.*

Recently finished a 4-month European sabbatical and had amazing experiences!

I absolutely love this platform, and many of the folks I've encountered thanks to it really are friends, now, and people I've stayed in contact with, stayed with/hosted again, or traveled with since meeting them here.

Hey, Y'all!

I'm a fun-loving guy who will try almost anything! I'm always on the go. Since age is just a number, I tend to act my own only when I have to.

I'm very open-minded, reflective, compassionate, and understanding. I have a lot of friends, but few really close friends. I look for the good in people and trust others until I have a reason not to. I enjoy traveling, usually solo, and seeing/doing what there is to see and do. I go with the flow and may make general plans, but I'll certainly leave room for those to change. I'd rather spend my money on experiences than things.

I like to volunteer my time when I can. I'm a dog lover and enjoy helping out our local shelter.

Nothing makes me happier than when I'm able to help someone else or make their day in a big or small way. I may be that guy who pays for your coffee while you're in line behind me.

PHILOSOPHY

Make a difference, and have fun while doing so. Love your neighbor. Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. People are generally good. Trust until you've got a reason not to.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host when asked and when in town. I try to surf with others when I'm on traveling, since it helps give an authentic experience and helps me meet some of the most amazingly awesome people the world has to offer.
I share stories about cool experiences and help spread the word about this great concept.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

While checking out Major League ballparks, other cities, and other places in the world, I've met, surfed, and hung out with some awesome people! I've surfed with many whom I now consider friends, and I've hosted several people. I wish I would get more hosting opportunities, but I live in a smaller town, 90 minutes from the big cities. We don't get a ton of surfers through here! This concept demonstrates that we can trust in the goodness of humanity, and I love it!

Interests

Traveling...duh. I enjoy traveling with others, but traveling solo can be even more fun. When making plans, you have only yourself to argue with. If those plans change, no big deal! I love to travel internationally when the chance presents itself. As I've traveled more of the US in recent years, I've realized how much I'm truly missing right in my own backyard, and I'm learning to appreciate what we have.

I'm a big baseball fan and have been an umpire for several years. I enjoy visiting different Major League ballparks when I have the opportunity. Touring ballparks is primarily what I was doing when I started surfing couches!

I love going to new places and trying things I've never done before.

I'm into craft beer. I'm not an expert on them, but I love exploring breweries and enjoying the local, and even home-brewed beers!

Barbecue. I'm from Kansas City, home of what I believe is the best barbecue in the world (http://www.kansascity.com/living/liv-columns-blogs/chow-town/article160948619.html). Keep in mind that if you're having burgers and hot dogs, that is not (a) "barbecue." It's a cookout. Wherever I go, I'll try to hit up a BBQ joint, and I'll probably judge it against my hometown's stuff! Funny (and understandable) that some of my favorite places outside of Kansas City have someone working the pit who is from or who has worked in KC!

I'm into people. If I don't know something about someone or about their culture, I will ask rather than make assumptions.

  • dogs
  • culture
  • beer
  • coffee
  • bbq
  • nightlife
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • baseball
  • volunteering
  • biking

Music, Movies, and Books

Yes, I'm into movies, music, and books!

Movies: Marvel, Conspiracies, Suspense, Dumb Comedy

I'm not picky when it comes to music. I may recognize a song, but 90% of the time, I won't be able to tell you who is responsible for it! I like classic rock, 80s stuff, classical, top 40, country, alternative, etc.

When I have time to read, I like to pick up a good conspiracy novel. My two favorite authors right now are Dan Brown and Steve Berry. When I'm done with Berry's books, I'll probably pick up some David Baldacci.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've been to three Baseball Hall of Fame Inductions, a Major League All-Star Game, 3 World Series Games, and a World Series victory celebration for my beloved Royals, after a 30-year dry spell. I've been to a game at all 30 Major League Ballparks. I've been to a Presidential Inauguration. I've personally seen the sun rise over Machu Picchu and over the Dead Sea, and I've seen it set over the Grand Canyon. I've swam with piranhas in Peru and snorkeled off the coast of Jamaica. I've climbed to the tops of both St. Peter's Basilica at the Vatican and the Duomo in Florence, and to the highest peak in the Black Hills of South Dakota. I've hiked the Kalalau Trail along Kauai's Na'Pali coast, and I spent two amazing nights on the beach there, in awe. I have a bucket list started and look forward to working on that!

Teach, Learn, Share

Yes. Things I try to do every. single. day.

I can teach you about baseball.

I try to learn as much about a place as I can, and local people are the best teachers. I also like learning about peoples' backgrounds.

I will share the shirt off my back if someone needs it. I'm a big pay-it-forward kind of guy.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cool travel stories, good conversations, a willingness to explore, dinner, beer. I'm up for going and doing almost anything. If I'm in your city for a ballgame, I would hope you'd might be interested in going to the game! If you come to visit me, I may suggest a ballgame as something to do! If I'm in your area to see or other things or to do some outdoor exploring, hiking, biking, or camping, I'm up for a companion!

I enjoy sharing a meal, or at least grabbing a beer with hosts and visitors. I'm up for preparing something at home or hitting up a local restaurant/bar/brewery.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Palestine, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.

My Groups