Julia Chen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References
  • Fluent in English, Yue (Cantonese); learning Chinese (Simplified), French, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Researcher
  • Emory University
  • From Rockville, MD, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To travel nonstop for the next 10 years.

ABOUT ME

I recently graduated with my Masters in Public Health from Emory University. I majored in public health at Tulane University in New Orleans (graduated 2013).

While in college, I studied abroad in Geneva, Switzerland. I recently spent a summer in Phnom Penh, Cambodia working on an evaluation of a clinic for a local non-governmental organization.

PHILOSOPHY

Everything works out in the end :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I used Couchsurfing for the first time while traveling to Copenhagen and Athens back in 2012. Love the community of sharing and meeting new people!

Interests

  • arts
  • singing
  • photography
  • crafts
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • rock climbing

Music, Movies, and Books

Currently reading: Catfish and Mandala by Andrew X. Pham, Difficult Women by Roxane Gay

TV: The Simpsons, Arrested Development, Flight of the Conchords, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Orphan Black, Mozart in the Jungle

Music: I actually listen to everything and I love to sing in my car!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Staying in Rabat, Morocco for two weeks with a wonderful host family, climbing the Great Wall of China, biking through the rural areas of Cambodia, sharing a meal with a Hmong family in the hills of Vietnam.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love to learn more about you and any life experiences :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share stories from my travels and basic phrases in Chinese (Cantonese and Mandarin) if you're interested!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Cambodia, Canada, China, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Cambodia, China, Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!